Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What’s That I Hear? No Complaints? What Did I Do Wrong?

on February 2, 2013

I’m very happy to share with you my friends, last night’s dinner didn’t garner any complaints. It almost makes me feel like I was doing something wrong! Well, that’s not completely true. The steamed broccoli got some whining. Even though we eat it on a regular basis (maybe once a week) and they claim to like it (with the requisite ranch dressing). Ah well, I suppose I can’t win them all, right? As long as my husband was happy, that’s all that matters. If my children had their choice, you know exactly what it would be every night: pizza/hamburgers/macaroni and cheese/hot dogs or some other kind of garbage. It’s not to say we never have those things, but certainly not on a daily basis!

My mom gave me this recipe a few years ago, and I only made it once. I have no idea why I haven’t made it since then, we always have red wine in the house, it’s perfect, I get to drink it AND put it in the food! I think the next time I make it, I”ll cut the water down by about 1/4C, as it turned out a little on the soupy side, but still delicious. If you like it soupy, by all means use the 2 C. One other thing I will tell you, since I’m spilling my guts here, I didn’t use sirloin this time, I used an arm roast. Yes! I know! They were on sale last week at my local grocery and I bought a few. It was a gorgeous roast, as roasts go. I cut it up into small, bite-size cubes and it turned out really well. So don’t be afraid to try a different cut of meat, it just may need a little more cook time if the cut is one that’s not normally terribly tender.

Delish! Beef Burgundy

Delish! Beef Burgundy

BEEF BURGUNDY

2 C water
1 can golden mushroom soup
1/4 to 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms
1-1/2 C burgundy or other dry red wine (I used red zinfandel)
2 lbs boneless top sirloin cut into 1″ pieces
1 pkg uncooked long grain & wild rice mix

1. Preheat oven to 375F.
2. Mmix water, wine, soup & seasoning mix from rice.
3. Put steak/meat and mushrooms into a 5 qt covered casserole dish.
4. Pour soup/wine/water over meat.
5. Bake 30 minutes covered. (you can cook longer if meat is a tougher cut)
6. Add in rice, cover and bake another 60 to 70 minutes, or until rice is tender.
7. Serve with a side & fresh salad.

Yum!

4 responses to “What’s That I Hear? No Complaints? What Did I Do Wrong?

  1. I had to smile after reading the title. I am glad the children enjoyed the dinner. After the holiday we tend to have tons of wine left over from dinner parties and gifts. I might well use them up in cooking as well, since drinking it alone is a bit boring for me…except when cooking and dancing in the kitchen, lol

  2. stephicakes says:

    Wow, pleasing everyone with dinner!? What’s that like!? My daughter is four and dinner is a trial. I ope it gets better.

    • It will get better. You’ve probably read the same thing I have about What about having her assist in preparation in some way? That has helped w/my kiddos. When they’re part of it, they have more of a vested interest in the way it comes out. I know at four, it would be limited, but maybe she can help by getting things out of the fridge for you or helping you get the utensils out.

      The other part of it is, from the getgo, we’ve told them, this is dinner, eat it or don’t, but I’m not a short order cook, if you don’t like it and choose not to eat it, the kitchen is closed. I was not going to make something for her and something different for him and something else for us, that’s just too much and a terrible habit to get into. It was a tough lesson when they were younger, but now, they may eat grudgingly. Or maybe even like it, but do their best not to let me know they like it! 🙂

      It’ll get better, I promise! 🙂

      • stephicakes says:

        I do have her help lately. And it’s only in the last few weeks that we’ve implemented the This is dinner, like it or not mentality. I have seen baby steps of improvement, so that’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

