Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tools of Torture AKA Chicken Piccata

on January 29, 2013

Remember I mentioned the short ones in my house and how they like to complain? I thought maybe they’d be getting old enough now to try new things and like them, they’re 9 & 12. Honestly. We took them on a cruise 3 or 4 yrs ago and my daughter was brave enough to try octopus, and claimed to like it. Fast forward to mom’s home cooking, nothing doing!

My husband loves capers. Any time we go to an Italian restaurant, or any restaurant for that matter, he gravitates toward menu options containing artichokes or capers, or both if he’s really lucky. We recently spent a weekend in Eureka Springs, AR and tried a new restaurant which got me thinking about changing things up, as I am wont to do. I decided it was time I try my hand at chicken piccata. It’s not really as intimidating as I’d thought. I suppose it was the capers I was afraid of. So not scary, they’re just little pickled flower buds. Hah. I never knew that. They’ve been around for thousands of years. Interesting.

Here is what mine looked like. Please refrain from licking your monitor. πŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Super Simple Chicken Piccata

3 or 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, flattened to about 1/2″ thickness
1/2 C flour
salt & pepper to taste
2tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp capers drained
1/2 C white wine
1/4 C lemon juice
1/4 C water
3 tbsp butter cubed
hot cooked angel hair pasta

1. Put oil in skillet and heat on med-hi.
2. Dredge chicken breasts in flour, season with salt & pepper and put in skillet. Cook approximately 5 min on each side, or until chicken is browned and is no longer pink inside.
3. Remove chicken to plate & keep warm.
4. Put capers in skillet, slightly smash to release brine & heat through (about 30 seconds).
5. Pour white wine into skillet & deglaze, scraping browned bits from the bottom. Heat to a low boil and allow wine to reduce for approximately 2 minutes, or until wine is reduced to half.
5. Pour in lemon juice and water, bring to a boil again. Add in cubed butter. Stir until sauce thickens.
6. I used angel hair pasta just because the sauce is a lighter sauce. Put chicken on pasta & top with sauce. Be sure to eat the capers too!

Husband and I were quite pleased with the resulting meal. It was delicious and different from my normal repertoire. My kids, who will eat a jar of pickles or pickled okra faster than any human should (they’d even drink the pickle juice if I let them) refused the capers. Flat out. And they didn’t care much for the sauce either. My son refused to eat the pasta and my daughter developed a sudden belly ache. We thought it was a perfectly lovely meal, they missed the boat. Some day they’ll appreciate my kitchen experimentation!

Enjoy!

11 responses to “Tools of Torture AKA Chicken Piccata

  1. robert says:

    I Loved it honey!!!!

  2. Hi! Just my two cents. I usually have success with my daughter if I give her whatever meal that we are eating, deconstructed. I read once that kids taste buds aren’t developed enough for them to appreciate the mixture of flavors, especially strong unfamiliar ones. In the case of your Chicken Piccata, if I was prepping it for my daughter i would leave the chicken plain, dice it up and keep it separate from the pasta. I’d leave her noodles plain and toss with a bit of olive oil. I’d give her a little side dish of the sauce to dip the chicken in, and plain capers on the side. I know it’s catering to them a bit but i find if i do this i can get her to eat basically the same meal we ate. Mind you, I’m dealing with one four year old so I have no idea how meal times go when they are 9 and 12 and full of opinions. I’m sure eventually they’ll all evolve and enjoy yummy dishes like yours. Cheers, Cheeky πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for stopping by Cheeky! That’s a great way to do it with a 4 year old. I have read that about their taste buds and try to give them many opportunities to try things and don’t necessarily give up after one try. They are certainly full of opinions, have you met them? πŸ™‚ But they do enjoy some bolder flavors – pickles, pickled okra, Louisiana Hot sauce, so I know they can enjoy some bolder flavors. The flavor of the sauce really wasn’t very strong, I think it was just that it was different that set them off. You know with your little one, if something looks different, that may be grounds for immediate dismissal without even giving it a try. Good luck with your girly! Thanks for your two cents!

  3. I have to bookmark this page. I have never heard about crapers before. I need to see what they are call over here and try to replicate your meal. by the way great photo!

  4. stephicakes says:

    Omg I love chicken piccata! Thanks for the new recipe to try. I’m with your husband, capers are the BEST!!!! I love to have them on bagels.

    • Hmm, I don’t think he’s tried them on bagels, but now that you mention it, I’ll have to share it with him, he’d probably love it!

      You’re very welcome for the recipe, let me know how it turns out!

  5. Yum! used the juice of two fresh lemons tonight and it makes a HUGE difference over the bottled juice.

  6. You know what, I still have not found craper:(

Leave a Reply

