Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Swing and a Miss, Almost

on January 22, 2013

Yes, a baseball reference. It’s nearly spring, time to break out the boys of summer talk, right? I suppose. I’m still in mourning over the end of college football season (I don’t do pro). I mentioned the torturing feeding of my younglings and how they love to protest. And protest they do. Loudly. And often. Especially when the meal involves vegetables, grilled fish/chicken, and no cheese. So imagine my surprise when they needed cheese to go with their whine tonite when dinner included onions, red & yellow peppers and, wait for it…..NO CHEESE.

I found an insane sale on red & yellow bell peppers last week at the grocery and scored as many as I could, knowing how well they freeze and how expensive they normally are. Here are these gorgeous winks of summer staring at me every time I open the fridge, so of course I had to find a way to use them. In my book, anything with peppers and onions has to be good!

Enter Smoked Turkey Sausage jambalaya. If you are in the mood for healthy Cajun, I got it, righcheer. Hooo boy, this some good eatin righcheer! (ok, I have no idea how to sound Cajun, just go with it!)

Yum yum yum! Torture kids on a plate!

Yum yum yum! Torture kids on a plate!

Smoked Turkey Sausage jambalaya

1 pkg jambalaya rice mix (I used Zatarains)
1 pkg smoked turkey sausage, sliced
1 red pepper, diced
1 yellow pepper, diced
1 medium onion, diced

1. prepare Jambalaya according to pkg instructions.
2. While rice is cooking, put sausage in large skillet and cook 5 to 7 minutes, turning occasionally to prevent burning.
3. Add onion & peppers to sausage and cook 5 to 10 minutes, or until peppers are soft.
4. When rice is done (some water in pan & rice is tender), add sausage/peppers/onion to rice mix, stir well and serve.
Eat alone or w/a green salad. It’s got a bit of a kick to it. And although my children didn’t like it much, my husband totally scarfed it up!

Enjoy!

5 responses to “A Swing and a Miss, Almost

  1. Viktoria Hart says:

    I would have “Put sausage in skillet, and cook 7-10 minutes, forgetting about it until it’s thoroughly burnt.”
    I like my sausage like I like my man!
    wait.
    um
    I Like my sausage like I like a big pile of logs: BURNED!!
    ViKtoria

    • LOL You’re so funny Vik! You say that, I did forget it for a few minutes. I was reading something and had forgotten about it. Then had that “Crap!” moment jumping up to find it was getting pretty close to scorching. Close, but no cigar. Whew!

  2. I had to laugh while reading yoru post. Children are not so easy to please normally guys aren’t either, lol, but when your husband enjoy it then I can definetly say it is a winner! Heck when you enjoy it…it is a winner. Just thought about my husband, lol.

Leave a Reply

