Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

5,475

on December 27, 2012

Five thousand four hundred seventy-five. In some senses it sounds like a lot. If you’re talking dollars, it’s a pretty good chunk of change. Minutes, well that would equate roughly to 92 hours, which is not long at all. Days, in days, it equates to 15 years. That sounds a little more substantial than 4 days and even more so than the money.

***NOTE: I was asked to put a warning on this post, to not read unless you have tissues handy. So, here it is!

To me, it’s the best part of my life, by far. No, I’m not 15, or even in my 20’s anymore. What that five thousand four hundred seventy five means is 15 years. The best 15 years I could’ve ever imagined. My 15th wedding anniversary is tomorrow, December 27. Never in my life would I have ever believed that a period of time that length could fly by in the blink of an eye. Yes, it is romantic getting married right after Christmas when everyone is so festive and caught up in the holiday. And yes, it was more than a little crazy, since my husband is, and has been, a retail manager. The reasoning behind choosing the date lie in my school, I was on break, as were all of our families, it was the best time to have everyone there.

In 1996, I was working two jobs saving money to get to college. My husband was an assistant manager at the retail store where I worked one of my jobs. I had a boyfriend, but I also knew my plan to go out of state to college, so a serious relationship was not on my radar at all. The boyfriend took a hike, and hubby and I became friends. We’d hang out together, go to movies. He and one of his buddies would let me cook for them. It’s hard to cook for one person. You’ve seen my recipes, try making that for one person and not eating it for weeks on end. I tried to set him up w/my coworkers from the restaurant I was working at for my second job. They all turned me down, he is clean cut and handsome, a nice guy. Too many of the girls I worked with wanted the dirty bad boys, which he certainly is not. One night we went to a movie, strictly as friends, and I looked at him in the dashlight and thought to myself, ‘He’s pretty cute, what are you doing?!” After that, it was all over. One night a few weeks later, we’d been to another movie and when he brought me home, he gave me a quick kiss, almost like a reflex. He turned and ran down the stairs as fast as he could, I’m not sure his feet even touched the ground he went so fast and I was secretly doing a happy dance behind the door. That, as they say, is all she wrote. We were engaged 9 months later and got married a year after that.

After it was all said and done, we started talking about how things happened and we noticed something. There was something going on that brought us together. Fate, karma, guardian angels, whatever you want to call it, too many things happened for us to not see it. He accepted a job transfer that he didn’t have to, a loan program that was going to help me get to school was canceled forcing me to wait another 5 months to go to school (it was reinstated after I got there). It was like someone was pulling strings to get us together. And whoever was pulling the strings, really knew what they were doing. The universe chose the perfect person for me.

He is the best part of me. He makes me laugh, he makes me cry (in a good way), he puts up with my less than stellar housekeeping skills, my experimentation in the kitchen, he never tries to change me and supports me no matter what. He helps me see the other side of situations when I can only see one part. Because of him, I have the two other biggest blessings of my life, my beautiful children. He works his tail off to take care of us and does it gladly with a smile on his face and a kiss for me. This sounds crazy, but we’ve never had a fight. Disagreements, yes, but never a fight. I could never ask for anyone better for a life partner, father of my children, lover, best friend, rock. The last 15 years of our marriage have flown by faster than I would’ve ever believed. I’m very much looking forward to the next 15. Even though I’m really trying, words will never begin to explain how much this man means to me. I’ll just say what I say to him: I love you with all my heart, forever and ever.

2 responses to “5,475

  1. valcitygal says:

    LOVE your story – and totally get where you’re coming from. I’m happy for your happiness. 🙂 Here’s to another 15!!

Leave a Reply

