Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Snow on the Mountain Cookies

on December 24, 2012

This is by special request and not my recipe. I bought a book called the Cookie Bible a few years ago (it’s still available on Amazon, if you’re interested). I think I gained a few pounds just looking at the pictures, so I haven’t picked it up in a while. That and the fact I’ve been working like a mad woman and barely had time to do laundry, let alone fulfill my baking needs. Although, kids on break, I’m on break, looking through this again, I think I’m going to pack on a few lbs! Oh, one other thing, the frosting thing, I was pretty unsuccessful with the whole chip melting thing. What I finally ended up looked more like an avalanche than snow.

Snow on the Mountain Cookies

1-1/4 butter flavor Crisco sticks or 1-1/4C butter flavor Crisco
1 C sugar
2 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla
4 C all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
2 C (12oz pkg) chocolate chips
1 C chopped walnuts

GLAZE
1-2/3C (10oz pkg) vanilla milk chips
2 to 5 tbsp whipping cream or 1-3 tbsp milk

1. Preheat oven to 325F. Combine shortening & sugar in large bowl. Beat at medium speed of electric mixer until well blended. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
2. Combine flour and salt. Add gradually to creamed mixture at low speed utnil well blended. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts with spoon. Shape dough into 1 inch balls. Shapt top of ball to cone shape. Place 1 inc apart on ungreased baking sheet.
3. Bake at 325F for 10-12 minutes or utnil light golden brown around the bottom. DO NOT OVERBAKe Cool on cookie sheet 2 min before removing to cooling rack to cool completely. (foil on the counter will work if you don’t have a rack)
4. For glaze (prepare while cookies are baking) Soften vanilla chips in microwave on 50% for 1 minute. Stir. repeat until smooth. Add enough whipping cream to make medium glaze. Heat and stir until smooth. Spon or drizzle 1 tsp over top of each warm cookie.

Remember, this is what I did for the glaze and was unsuccessful. If you have a different method, I say go for it. It’s basically just a dollop of white frosting on top of a cookie, in theory you could just use white cake frosting and save yourself the trouble.

So, there you go. I don’t have any pictures, but they really were delicious. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Snow on the Mountain Cookies

  1. I am not too good with glaze either but one thing I can say is that I know that your cookies I am sure was on point. I will never forget the first hand size cookies I made following your recipes. My first cookies that ever came out right. On that note wishing you and your loves one a Merry Christmas and a great start in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

