Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Two Gals, 250 miles, and a Vampire Slayer

on June 29, 2012

My best friend recently turned, gasp, 50. I still have difficulty getting my brain around that. She doesn’t look like what I used to think a 50 year old would look like. Nor does she behave the way I thought a 50 year old was supposed to behave. I guess I was expecting gray hair, false teeth and a walker. Huh. How ’bout that. That’s good to know, since it’s not too far off for me now! Funny how the closer we get to an age, the younger it looks. Am I the only one who thinks that?

I wanted to have a party for her, but she shot me down. But you can’t let a milestone like that just get by without some sort of celebration, right? I’m so not into the whole tombstones/over the hill crap, so don’t even think that! Since she didn’t want a party, I suggested a girl’s weekend in Dallas. A short 250 mile drive away. We shopped, we ate (a lot) and that was only Friday!

We’d planned our trip for several months. We were both really excited. To be able to have a complete conversation without my dog barking, or a kid interrupting sounds terrific! Until….I wake up on Friday, the day we’re leaving, with a wicked crick in my neck. Pain. Ouch. Ow. Crap. So, rather than being chauffeured to her weekend getaway, my bff, Lisa, ended up driving me. I was wrecked. I had to use two, not one, but TWO travel pillows stacked up to immobilize my neck. I know, it sounds totally weird, I’m pretty sure it looked that way too, but it was better than the collar my chiropractor wanted me wear.

We hit the outlet mall on the way to our hotel. Shopped til dinner time, then went in search of food. Ah, Pappadeaux, how I love you. The hotel is a really gorgeous facility that was all done in hues of blue and green. I’d never been in a hotel that was decorated like that. Normally browns, earth tones, flat neutral colors. This place was all aquatic feeling and very calming.

Saturday was facials, massages and more eating. yes, I know. We practically ate our way across Dallas! But hey, when you’re in a city with the good stuff, you gotta take advantage.  We’d initially planned to spend the afternoon lounging poolside. I had the soft side cooler and insulated drink cups all ready to go. But then we saw the puddle, I mean pool. seriously, I think my husband’s shoes are bigger than that! it was almost a lap pool, for an 8 year old. Oh well.

Dinner and a movie. I love my friend like a sister. We have fun together, we cut up and goof off, but we also give each other the kick in the pants we need every now and then. She’s more of a shoot’em up/blow up movie kinda gal. I like lots of movies, but shoot’em ups are not my favorite. If it had not been her birthday, I would never have gone to see ‘Abraham Lincoln Vampire Slayer’. She knew it wasn’t my kind of movie. And she knew that the only reason I’d see it was b/c it was her b-day. She said we could see something else, but, it was her trip, so we went. Any other time, I’d definitely pass. And I can say for sure, it’s an awful movie. Well, to me it was. Lisa, well, she sat on the edge of her seat and clapped like my kids watching ‘The Avengers’. So I think she liked it. And that’s what counts.

It was great weekend, minus the cranky neck and the crazy woman banging on the door at midnight. I’m so glad we went. And I’m glad she enjoyed it, most of all.

6 responses to “Two Gals, 250 miles, and a Vampire Slayer

  1. Lisa Freeman says:

    OMG!! It was a FABULOUS weekend. I owe you sister for the sacrifice you made going to that horribly terrific movie! I’ll even go to a icky love story, tear jerking, boy meets girl movie with you! I’ll even buy the popcorn!!

    I don’t feel 50…most of the time. I’m still a 10 year old at heart…I still love gummy bears and soda pop! Love ya better than a sister! Lele

  2. Ooooh! an icky love story, how about ‘The Vow’? That looks pretty sappy! I know you’re a kid at heart, I am too, it’s just the cranky knees, gray hairs and wrinkles that remind me I”m not. boo. Love ya back!

  3. Abraham Lincoln Vampire Slayer not good? No way!! 😉

  4. Happy belated birthday to your friend. It does sound like a great weekend celebration! Heck yeah a weekend with a best friend memories will last longer than a birthday party and better yet no clean up. I hope your neck is feeling better DG.

Leave a Reply

