Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Observations from a Rock Concert

on March 18, 2012

Hello my friends. I’m still around. I know I know, believe me. So, last wknd hubby and I and a couple of friends went to see Rick Springfield. I think I saw him in the 80’s, but it’s been a while and I went to so many concerts then, I have a hard time remembering who I’ve seen and who I only wanted to see!

It was a great show. For being in his 60’s (yes, I”m serious, I just checked his birth date, and even if the date’s wrong, he’s pushing 60) he still puts on a great show. Looks and acts like someone half his age. He was energetic, all over the stage, in the audience w/fans, all around entertaining. The years have been very kind to him. The venue was the type that had not a bad seat in it, intimate, only about 1800 seats maybe. But…I have to share with you some of the things I witnessed.

When you are the same age as the aging star (or nearly), you can’t dress like you did when you were in your 20’s. I promise, not many people want to see cleavage on a 55+ year old woman. Even the rock star himself probably still gets younger, ahem, fans.  I saw one woman from behind. She had a nice trim figure, seemed to be well dressed, skinny black jeans, chain belt, heeled black boots, black slim-fitting blouse, but when she turned around….ACK! She was easily my mother’s age (70’s), or at least close. I totally get wanting to look your best, really I do. When you look good, you feel good.  Aging groupies are just wrong. Unless she’s in Hollywood. And even then, I”m not sure I want to see it.

As a larger person, I’m sure it is difficult to find clothes that fit properly. However, the guy who sat in front of us, egads man! I just want to know how he can sit through a concert not knowing half of his ass was hanging out of his pants! Plumbers got nothing on this guy! He walked to his seat and it was literally like a mountain with feet. He was big all over. Then he sat down. And my retinas will never be the same. I’ve had nightmares since about a giant hairy butt stalking me.

The show was good, don’t get me wrong, but not a stand up for the whole thing dancing in your spot kind of show. Unless you’re the rude cows who were in front of us and a few over. The music was slower. Everyone around us was seated, we could see fine. They had to stand. When the man behind them asked them to sit down, the cows looked at him, snarled and said ‘you should stand. why do you come to a concert to sit down?’ At some concerts, I would be right there with them, but this really wasn’t that kind of show. These girls reminded me of the rude snotheads from high school. You know what? They really don’t grow out of it. I was a nerd in high school, but I have outgrown it. The mean girl thing, the never leave it behind. Even when management came and told these twits to sit down, b/c everyone behind them was seated, they still refused. They snickered and sneered at everyone around them, pretending to be so superior and in disbelief that we would dare sit! In the end, the gentleman who had words with them, was moved to a better seat. Take that, cows! Mooo.

The days of throwing you undergaments on stage in hopes of getting invited backstage, really are over when the undies you toss are granny panties. yeah, so not sexy, the big white, nylon kite material kind. Blech. I think I just threw up in my mouth.

When leaving said venue, and all the throngs of people and floods of traffic are trying to funnel to a single exit, it is imperative that you pay attention to where you are going. Just as we were exiting the parking garage, a uniformed person began directing us the opposite direction. Then I saw why. Someone driving a Honda had gotten a little too intimate with the back end of a pickup truck. yep, I have a feeling it was a bad ending to their evening. Oh well, glad it wasn’t me!

So….have you seen anything interesting lately?

Leave a Reply

