Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Yummy Banana Oatmeal Muffins!

on February 4, 2012

OMG I”m so in love! First of all, sorry I’ve been MIA for the past few gang. Got one of those home reno things taking over my life. But, I wanted to share my latest concoction with you because they’re healthy and delish! I had some bananas sitting on my counter turning deep freckly/black. I have a banana bread recipe that I love, but it is totally unhealthy. Although I love me some butter, a stick of it isn’t quite what I’d call diet friendly, even though I”m not ‘dieting’, I”m still trying to be healthy. You have read the news about Paula Deen haven’t you? So, I see the bananas and in my pantry, a bucket of oatmeal. Hmmm. My brain went spinning, if I make oatmeal blueberry muffins, why not banana? I altered the recipe a bit b/c of the moisture of the bananas, but they are amazing! Not loaded w/sugar, no oil, yummy! After I made them i realized I forgot my flax meal. I normally put several tbsp of flax meal in my baking to increase the healthy fiber content, among other things. That said, you should feel free to add it if you like, I will next time, and I”ll make a double batch, this only made a dozen.

Healthy Banana Oatmeal Muffins

1C oatmeal

1C flour

1/3C sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2C 2% milk

1/4C unsweetened apple sauce

1 egg

2 ripe bananas mashed

pecans/walnuts if desired

 

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400, grease muffin pan or use cup liners

1. In a medium sized bowl, mix dry ingredients, including sugar.

2. In a small bowl, beat egg. Mix with mashed bananas, milk and applesauce.

3. Mix wet and dry ingredients and fill muffin cups 2/3 full.

4. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes. Remove to rack to cool.

I like to sprinkle the nuts on top, they normally get a nice toasted flavor to them. Next time I might mix them in, who knows! I like to live on the edge like that!

Let me know what you think and I promise promise promise, next time I will get some pics. My camera is currently in need of a charge.

Leave a Reply

