Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Have Your Chili and Eat it Too!

on January 30, 2012

When it’s cold outside, I love me some chili. There’s something about a big bowl of steaming hot chili topped with cheese served with saltines. The thing is, it can be really loaded with calories and fat. And that’s a double dose of what we’re trying to rule out, right? I want something that’s good for me and still tastes good, not like grass or cardboard. Here’s what I came up with. I wish I had the lab equipment to calculate calories per serving, but I don’t, so we’ll just have to do this one blindly. I will tell you that the chili mix I use calls for 2 lbs ground beef. I used less than 1lb of 90% lean ground beef, but pumped it up with black beans, kidney beans, and corn. Oh, and diced tomatoes too. Hard to have chili w/o tomatoes!

Healtified Chili

1 pkg 2 Alarm chili mix
1lb 90% lean ground beef
1 can each black beans and kidney beans drained and rinsed
1 C frozen corn
1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 can 8oz tomato sauce
2 8oz cans water

1. Brown ground beef and drain. You can cook onions with the beef if you like.
2. In a medium to large size pot, place the water, beans, corn, tomatoes and the spices from the chili mix and bring it to a nice simmer.
3. Add drained ground beef.
4. Continue simmering 30 minutes or until chili has thickened.
5. Serve with saltines and a sprinkle of cheese if desired.

Yumorama! There you go, a healthier way to have your chili.

Leave a Reply

