Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lemony tuna salad

on January 9, 2012

I know, sounds kinda strange, but shouldn’t sound too off, I mean how many people do you know who squeeze lemon on their fish? This is kind of like that, but came from my desire to change my eating habits this year and shake off some of these extra lbs that have managed to find me again. I mean I lost them once, a long time ago, I have no idea how the little buggers found me again!

Part of my changes will be making swaps. Swapping foods that are high in fat and/or calories for something that is better for me, but still tastes good. I know, it may not be possible all the way around, but I”m going to give it my best! Any time you can swap out mayo for a healthier alternative, I”m all for it.

Ok, here’s what I did:

1 can tuna in water, drained

2 tbsp plain Greek yogurt

1 tsp lemon pepper

salt and pepper to taste

Mix all together in a bowl and eat with salad, whole wheat crackers, or on a 100 calorie thin sandwich bun for a healthy protein packed lunch.

Calories: 1 can tuna 5 oz = 100 calories  + 2 tbsp Greek yogurt 10 calories= 110 calories. Paired with fresh green salad and some baby carrots, and you have a great protein and fiber packed lunch that will get you through most of the afternoon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

