Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Skinny tacos?

on January 8, 2012

Well, maybe I should call them ‘skinnier’ tacos. As in thinner than their all beef counter parts. So, here we are in the new year and everyone is all ‘I’m going to lose weight’ or “I’m going to duct tape my mouth shut’ or ‘I’m never eating anything cooked/fried/dead’.  Right. I’ll get right on it.

Forget all that nonsense I say! don’t make ridiculous statements that you can never live up to. Then you feel bad and dive head first into a pint of Blue Bell to soothe your guilt. Don’t set goals for yourself that are unattainable or over the top. If you truly do want to lose weight/diet/change your life, you have to start with the idea that you are changing your habits and life style. NOT diet. That is the word you have to eliminate from your vocabulary all together. Why? There are a couple of reasons that should be simple to remember: 1. ‘diet’ is a four-letter word. What did your mom tell you about saying those? and 2. The first three letters of the word are ‘d-i-e’. Now tell me, which of those sound like good vocabulary to use when you are trying to set and reach goals? Neither in my book. ‘Diet’ has a negative connotation to it and in my book = deprivation, no fun, eating rabbit food and cardboard. And, well, ‘die’, I think that one is self explanatory.

My suggestion? Hmm, I actually have many and if you’d like, we can work on some lifestyle changes together to achieve these goals. but first, my suggestion is to change the words you’re using initially. You don’t say or think ‘I’m going on a diet’. Who wants to set themselves up for failure? it’s a tough thing to stick to or live by. Here’s what you need to think/say, ‘I’m changing my habits and life style.’ That gives you much more flexibility in what you’re doing and people will be more willing to support you, I think. It sounds serious, like you’re in it for the long haul, which you need to be, if you want to make long-lasting change.

Am I a diet guru? Nope. A life-style expert? Nope, not that either. What I am, is more educated than the average bear and wiling to share what I know. Here’s my backstory: 1991, I”m 24 and get on the scale at the dr’s office. My eyes nearly explode out of my head when I see the numbers on there. I knew I’d put on a few lbs, but not that many! I hadn’t ever thought I’d hit that number unless I was preggo. And I knew for sure I was not preggo then. What did I do? I drastically altered my lifestyle. Notice I didn’t use the four letter word? I eliminated all of the processed/fried/fatty foods that were favorites of mine and instead went for fresh fruits and veggies, grilled/baked chicken, lean meats and proteins and I began to exercise on a regular basis. Granted, I had higher metabolism back then, but in the first month of my new lifestyle, I dropped 10lbs. That was all the inspiration I needed to keep it up. I ultimately lost more than 25lbs and have managed to keep it off for 20 yrs. Only in the past yr have I noticed my pants slowly getting tighter. yes, the holidays are difficult, which is inpsiring me to get back into my good habits, i.e. eating better and exercising more and on a regular basis. And I have a friend to do it with who will keep me accountable, and I will do the same for her. Not make her feel bad if she slips, but to support her and help her get back if she does. And she’ll do that for me as well.

Today I had an idea. My kids wanted tacos for dinner. While they’re delicious, they may not necessarily be the healthiest thing ever. My kids won’t do chicken tacos, so it’s always ground beef. I had some browned ground beef in the freezer, probably only half of what the recipe called for. I took a can of black beans, drained them, heated them in the microwave and smashed them as best as I could, then added them to the ground beef. Yummy! It gave the ground beef a creamy texture, as well as giving us added fiber and protein, and it stretched my beef in a healthy way. And guess who was completely clueless about the addition that I snuck in? yep, they had no idea and chowed down!

 

Here it is again in short hand:

Skinnier beef tacos

1/2lb lean ground beef browned, and drained

1 envelope taco seasoning

1 can (15oz) black beans, drained and rinsed

taco toppings/shells/tortillas/etc that you prefer

 

1. After browning and draining the ground beef well, put it in a skillet and follow prep instructions on the packet of taco seasoning.

2. Place black beans in a microwave safe bowl and heat on high for 1:30. Smash with a spoon as best you can and add to ground beef. Stir well.

3. Serve as you normally do and enjoy, knowing that you have increased your fiber intake and gotten one over on your family! Unless of course, your spouse sees it and asks ‘are there beans in the meat?’ like mine did. But he was totally ok with it, and said he liked it even better!

Enjoy! If you are interested in lifestyle info, please to let me know and I’ll gladly share my knowledge.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

