Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Caramel Apple Cheesecake

on November 24, 2011

Thanksgiving always makes me think of good food. My thing is dessert. I love making dessert and trying new recipes. Especially when there are several people around to share with, which means there’s less for me to have to worry about eating! So, what this year? Pumpkin pie’s old hat, besides I just don’t like it. Apple pie? Did that last year. I’d totally do it again, though, I’ve got a kicking recipe for upside down apple pie that is amazing. My mind was wandering on the apple thought. Hm. Apples are in season right now. I love caramel apples. I wonder, what about a caramel apple cheesecake? Genius, pure genius.  I did a search online and came up empty. I did find a recipe in my cabinet that I’d found a while ago for caramel pecan cheesecake. Ha! And I’ve got a recipe for an apple topping that would work perfectly! Voila! Caramel Apple cheesecake!

This:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plus this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Equals this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I must say, not to pat myself on the back or anything, but holy cow it’s really good. My bff said it was the best cheesecake she’d ever had. In the last pic you can even see the caramel oozing out of the cheesecake! Yum!

Caramel Apple Cheesecake

2pkg reduced fat cream cheese (8oz) softened

2 eggs

1-1/4 C sugar divided

1/2 tsp vanilla

20 caramels unwrapped

2 tbsp milk

1/2 C chopped pecans

1 premade graham cracker crust (6oz)

4 medium apples, peeled & coarsely chopped

4 tbsp butter

1-1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Beat cream cheese, 1/2C sugar and vanilla in a large bowl with an electric or stand mixer on medium until well blended. Add eggs and mix until just blended.

2. In a small sauce pan, on medium/low heat, melt caramels with milk stirring frequently until caramels are completely melted. Stir in pecans and pour in bottom of pie crust.

3. Bake 40 minutes or until center is ALMOST set. cool and refrigerate 3 hours or overnight. Let cheesecake stand at room temp for at least 30 min prior to serving to allow caramel layer to soften. Store any leftovers in the refrigerator.

4. while cheesecake is baking, in a large skillet, melt butter and  saute apples, 3/4C sugar, cinnamon until apples are tender. Add 2 tsp corn starch to thicken if desired. Cool. Serve over cheesecake. Store any leftovers in the refrigerator.

This is so good. Even if you don’t want the apples, this cheesecake alone is good and would be delish with other toppings as well, I’m sure, like maybe chocolate! Isn’t everything good with chocolate? All I can say is be prepared for compliments out the wazoo and an empy pie dish!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

4 responses to “Caramel Apple Cheesecake

  1. valcitygal says:

    This sounds amazing – kudos for the creativity! 🙂

    • Thanks! It is so good! And not hard at all, which is even better! I need to see what I could do with a springform pan next time. Hmmm, you know, now I”m hungry, I think I need to go get a slice!

  2. Oh wow, just reading this my imagination ran while. sounds really really good!

  3. lol, Domesticgoddess I was about to type my comment and I seen my comment from last year of what I was almost about to type but not to far off. I wanted to say it is 545am here and I am taking a break from editing to reading your post got me literally foaming at the mouth…no joke.

Leave a Reply

