Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Green Chicken Chili 2 Ways

on October 16, 2011

I know, ‘green’ and ‘chili’ in the same sentence can be taken a few ways. But, if you like spicy, even just a little spice, I think you’ll like this recipe. I say ‘2 ways’ because it can be prepared stove top or in your slow cooker. Have I mentioned how much I ❤ my slow cooker? I had this on my menu and really wanted to watch my favorite football team & #W2B play #OSUvsUT. The game was going to be over about dinner time, which would leave me scrambling to get dinner ready. Hmmm, I wonder if I can put this in the slow cooker. The answer? YES! Since you can do it either way, I’ll include instructions for both. Enjoy!

Green Chicken Chili 2 Ways

1 lb chicken cut into bite sized pieces

1 poblano pepper, membranes & seeds removed, and chopped

1/2 medium sized onion chopped

2 cloves garlic pressed or minced

1tsp cumin

2 cans chicken broth 14.5 oz each

2 cans pinto beans drained and rinsed 15oz each

1 bottle salsa verde, 16oz

4 corn tortillas grated w/cheese grater or food processor

SLOW COOKER DIRECTIONS

1. saute onions, pepper and garlic just until softened.

2. place all ingredients into 4qt slow cooker.

3. cook on low for 6 to 8 hrs, or high for 4 hours.

STOVE TOP DIRECTIONS

1. cook chicken in large pot in 1 tbsp oil approx 5 min.

2. remove chicken from pan and cook onion, peppers and garlic for 3 min.

3. add the rest of the ingredients, including grated tortillas, into the pot, bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer uncovered 15 minutes.

Serve with tortilla chips and fresh cilantro if desired. If you like it spicier, I suppose you could leave in the seeds from the pepper, I don’t know how spicy poblanos are, but w/o the seeds and the green salsa, it’s got a nice warmth to it w/o being painful. Yum! And it’s healthy to boot!

Leave a Reply

