Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

on October 10, 2011

Over the summer, my slow cooker is my best friend. In cooler weather, it’s my friend too! I’ve got several delicious recipes I like to use it for. Our summer ended rather abruptly this year <NO, I”m not complaining!> so rather than waiting for October to make soups & stews, I get to do it now! One of my husband’s favorites is this one I’m getting ready to share. I got this from my husband’s twin sister. Thanks Kim! I will tell you , I didn’t take any pictures of it, it doesn’t photograph well, but it’s super easy and delicious! It’s warm and hearty, without being really heavy.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

1/2C wild rice

5-1/2C water

2 stalks celery sliced thin

2 carrots peeled and sliced

1 medium onion chopped

2 tbsp chicken boullion crystals or 3 chicken bullion cubes crushed

2 cans chicken breast

2 tbsp flour

1C heavy cream or half & half

1. rinse wild rice. Place first 6 ingredients in slow cooker. Set to high and cook for 4 to 5 hours, or until rice is tender. (if not cooked long enough, the rice is crunchy….gross!)

2. pour undrained cans of chicken in crockpot. Mix flour and cream/half & half and pour into crock pot. Cook another hour or so.

Serve with crusty bread. Delicious and you hardly had to do a thing! If you need to, I think you could totally cook this on low all day, and then add the chicken/cream when you get home from work and give it time to finish cooking. My children grumble and don’t like it, but hey, that’s more for us, right? 😀 Enjoy!

One response to “Slow Cooker Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

  1. I so love this soup, but with my new lifestyle changes, I”m going to attempt to skinny it down and rather than using the original heavy cream, or my other swap, today I”m making it and planning on using 2% milk. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

