Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Omelets to Go

on September 14, 2011

My husband’s breakfast of choice is coffee. sound familiar? Well, stop it right there. You have to eat something. How else are you going to get your day started right? What? no time? I’m so glad you found my page, I’m going to take care of that for you right now. No, no applause, really, just throw money. This is an amazingly simple and completely customizable recipe. What’s better, it freezes well, and reheats well. Would I lie to you? Read it first, then try them and tell me how awesome they are! Sorry, I don’t have pics for you, I haven’t made them in a while, but had a request from a friend.

Omelets to Go

12 eggs beaten

1/2 C dry bread crumbs

3 tbsp butter melted

1-1/2 C chopped deli ham

1/4 C shredded cheese-cheddar/jack/Kojak/swiss whatever you have or like

1/4 to 1/2 tsp salt

 

1. beat eggs in a large mixing bowl.

2. add all other ingredients and stir until well blended

3. fill greased muffin pan 3/4 full

4. bake @ 375 15 to 20 minutes, or until knife inserted at the center comes out clean.

 

These refrigerate/freeze/reheat really well. I have made a double batch, and put the extras in Ziploc/glad-type reusable plastic containers and freeze them. I put four in a container and when I’m ready, I put them in the fridge to thaw over night. Then to reheat, 30 sec each does the trick! They are fabulous.

Optional add-ins: spinach, garlic, sautéed onions & peppers, mushrooms, bacon, whatever you have on hand or what you like. They are really wonderful. I will let you know, being the person I am, I try to cut out as much fat and calories as I can, but I promise you if you don’t put the butter in this, they come out dry and very flat.

enjoy, you can thank me later!

Leave a Reply

