Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

An oldie but a goodie!

on July 27, 2011

Once again, I find myself living in an oven, and I”m not liking it! I like to USE my oven, not LIVE in it! But since a move to a cooler climate doesn’t look like it’ll be happening any time in my future, I’ll just have to put on my big girl panties and deal with it.

One problem with living in the oven rather than using it, I am hard pressed to want to use said oven b/c of the heating of my kitchen. My home has an open floor plan and the kitchen/dining area/family room are all together, making a larger space more difficult to cool. Any one else feeling my pain right now? Yep, I thought so.

With that in mind, I broke out one of my old favorite recipes. I always loved these as a child, but now….well, I still love them! Maybe even more b/c I can have a yummy, decadent treat w/o turning on my oven.

What on earth am I going on about? No bake cookies. I know you’ve had them. I think they’re a requirement for kids. And if you haven’t tried them, you are in for a treat! These little babies are super easy to make and delicious to eat! I’m curious to see how long this batch makes it in my house! I’m also curious to find out if my daughter’s friend’s sister likes them. She announced to me that she did not like peanut butter. Not that she’s allergic, but that she didn’t like it. I probably looked at her like she sprouted an extra head when she told me this. I thought peanut butter was a food group for kids!

No Bake Cookies

2C sugar
1/2C milk
1/3C cocoa powder
2Tbsp butter
1 tsp vanilla
2 heaping tbsp creamy peanut butter
2 C quick cook oatmeal

1. In a small sauce pan, combine sugar, milk, cocoa and butter. Boil 1 min stirring constantly.
2. Remove from heat and cool slightly.
3. Add peanut butter, vanilla and oatmeal. Stir well to blend.
4. Drop by spoonful on waxed/parchment paper to cool. Store in an airtight container. if you’re in a warm climate as I am, store in the refrigerator.

Enjoy! And stay cool!

6 responses to “An oldie but a goodie!

  1. You stay cool too. I know how it is. I was at my mom’s house and it is pretty much the same. I learned the next day if I open up all the windows and turn on the fan the air will slowly flow outside.

  2. Barbara says:

    My grandma made these for me and I make them. I have yet to make them for Bonnie and Danielle, but I will one day soon!! They are the best, that is unless you are counting the carbs and calories in them!

  3. Karen says:

    My mother use to make these cookies for us. They never lasted long.

    • Unbelievably there are still some in my house, but I don’t give them much longer, my husband loves them! It’s just one of those classic recipes that everyone enjoys. Glad to hear I”m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

