Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Penne Beef Florentine

on April 28, 2011

I love this dish! My children even love it, which makes me like it that much more! And once again, it’s a meal in a pan, but hey, who can complain about that? Less dishes to clean, right?  I must apologize, I didn’t get any pics, we were starving and ate it  before I could get my camera out!

Penne Beef Florentine

1lb ground beef

1 pkg whole wheat penne (12oz)

3 cloves garlic pressed

1 pkg fresh spinach (2oz) chopped

1 can diced tomatoes, drained

2 cans tomato sauce (8oz)

1 can beef broth

1-1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 C shredded mozzarella

What to do:

1. brown ground beef with garlic. drain.

2.cook pasta according to pkg directions in salted water. drain.

3. put tomatoes, tomato sauce, beef broth, Worcestershire in with beef.

4. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered until sauce begins to thicken.

5. Add spinach and stir until spinach is wilted.

6. Toss beef/tomato mixture with pasta. Sprinkle cheese on top and cover until cheese is melted.

There you go, can’t get much easier than that! If you like your spinach pieces larger, you can just do a coarse chop, or even leave the pieces whole. We discovered last time that my son likes the spinach to be in tiny pieces. Ok with me! If that will help him eat it better, I’m all for it! Let me know what you think, it’s Italian-esque, without being typical Italian.

3 responses to “Penne Beef Florentine

  1. Great post thanks for sharing. Family is something that I truly care about in life. You have a great blog here I enjoyed coming here today.

  2. Since I’ve taken on my grain-free lifestyle, pasta is off the table. Yes, I love my pasta, however, if it makes a big difference in the way I feel, I”m ok with it. So, to replace the pasta, I’m baking a spaghetti squash and will put the meat sauce on the squash, it’ll be delicious and healthy all at the same time!

Leave a Reply

