Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You win some, you lose some

on April 18, 2011

Well, my attempt at a Rocco recipe fell flat, literally. It was a healthy/low fat/diet recipe for brownies. Hey! Low fat, diet brownies? Sign me up! Yeah, not so much. Sorry Rocco, but they just underwhelmed us. I really did have high hopes for them. I knew they would have a different taste and texture than what we’re used to. I mean, really, Betty Crocker is pretty generic, right? The base for these brownies is pureed black beans. Hmmm, protein and fiber in a tasty dessert treat? I was excited to try my hand at them.

Here’s the deal. They are very flat. And I mean, fluffy pancake flat. About as dense as a mud pie. Other than that, they’ve got a great chocolate flavor! I just wish they could’ve been more brownie-like, rather than deflated fudge-like.

My children didn’t go for them, which actually didn’t surprise me. Ah, well. Can’t win them all, hey, Rocco?

2 responses to “You win some, you lose some

  1. I just did a search and the ingredients is really interested. No flour no baking powder. Would have to see him make it in real life standing next to him, lol.

  2. Well, there is a bit of flour, only 3tbsp. but they were quite disappointing. Maybe he has some special trick. My husband ate some, so at least they weren’t a total waste!

Leave a Reply

