Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies TO DIE FOR!!!

on April 16, 2011

Don’t you just love bakery cookies? When they’re really big and chewy and just so good you could eat a dozen by yourself? yep. Me too. Here’s a surprise that you’re so going to love! You can make cookies that look like they came from a bakery! Seriously, you can! I used to be the refrigerated/pouch mix kind of girl. Never really gave scratch baking much of a thought. What changed? You know, I don’t really know! But I do know that my family is pretty darned happy when I break out my stand mixer! If you’ve never baked cookies from scratch, don’t be afraid! it will be worth all the effort. Well, I can’t say that, what I should say is, it’s really not hard. Yes it takes a bit more than cutting a slice off of a log that is loaded with mystery ingredients and been sitting in a refrigerated case at the store for God knows how long. But the outcome, well, read on and take a look at my pics and you’ll see what I mean!

I can’t take credit for this recipe, I’m telling you that up front, but they are freaking amazing! The difference in mine vs the original is Crisco and a grinder. You can use butter for these cookies, but what I like to use are the butter flavor Crisco sticks. It mixes well and won’t scorch like butter can.  The grinder? Is for the oatmeal. If you like a finer texture, you can run the oatmeal thru the food processor or coffee grinder. I personally like the texture the whole oatmeal gives the cookies. Either way, they come out really good. The other thing you can do, is use all brown sugar instead of half and half.  It gives it a chewier texture.

Tell me those don't look like they came from your favorite bakery! 12 of these babies take up my entire cooling rack!

See if you can spot the secret ingredient and I’ll tell you what it is at the end.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies!

1/2C rolled oats

 2-1/4  C flour

1-1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1C butter (or crisco butter flavor sticks)

3/4 C packed brown sugar

3/4 C granulated sugar

2 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

1 tsp lemon juice

3 C chocolate chips

1-1/2C chopped walnuts (if desired)

1. preheat oven to 350F.  in one large bowl, mix dry ingredients and set aside.

2. cream butter/crisco and sugars, vanilla, and lemon juice.

3. add eggs to sugar mix and mix on medium until fluffy.

4. mix in the dry ingredients, pausing between each addition to give time for them to become blended with the sugar mix.

5. add in the chocolate chips and walnuts if you’re using them.

6. if you have an ice cream scooper, use that to get consistent size/shaped cookies. If not, you can use a 1/4C measuring cup. shape cookie dough into balls and place 1-1/2 to 2″ apart on a greased baking sheet.

7. bake 16 to 18 minutes, or until golden brown. Cook more time for crispier cookies. For chewy cookies use less time and remove from the oven when the edges are golden.

8. Allow to cool on baking sheet about a minute, then remove to racks to cool completely. ha ha! Or until they won’t scorch the roof of your mouth before eating!

I am not a little girl, and 1/8C cookie dough makes a cookie nearly as big as my palm! All I need now is a glass of milk!

To maintain the chewiness, store them in an airtight container.

Oh, the secret ingredient?  It’s lemon juice. The acidity in the lemon juice activates the baking soda making the cookies lighter. YUM! let me know if you try these! You won’t regret it, I promise!

14 responses to “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies TO DIE FOR!!!

  1. Those look great and nice tip about the crisco sticks.

  2. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  3. I just bookmark your page:) I need to try this out! I like how big your cookies are great comparison to your hand. Also thanks for sharing the secret of having them pretty much the same size. I never thought about using a ice cream scoop.

    • Thanks! I was really surprised how large they turned out this time. You can use an ice cream scoop. or what I did this time was use 1/4C measuring cup and only filled it 1/2 full and shaped the dough into balls. YUM! I love them with the walnuts. They are sooo good! 😀 enjoy!

  4. Okay I will do both for comparison and let you know my result immediately afterward. I know already if it come out a success I will post a photo of it an your blog link in my cooking group.

    I m a awful cookie baker. Every time I make them they either burn or come out to watery. I will try it this week. I have all the ingredients you have listed.

    • to not burn the cookies, set the time at the lower end of the listed time, like when it says 15 to 18 min, check it at 15 min. and just go from there. I would err to the side of being underdone, you can always add more time! Good luck! Let me know how they come out!

      • Your timing is perfect. I couldn’t resist but try to make it tonight. I change the ingredients just a little. I will post the photo in my group and send you the link tomorrow. My dough made 11 cookies and they are fat, lol, 1/2 inch high and wide as my palm. I did all of them in the 1/4 measuring cup as you said. As soon as they are cool enough I want to try one.
        Your blog is the best cookie post I have read in all time. Send you link photo tomorrow!

      • Yay! I’m so glad they turned out well for you! See, you can bake cookies! Next time, if you cut the dough per cookie in half, you’ll get more cookies out of the batch. I got over 2 dozen doing that last week. Yum!

      • Thank you DG I am going to keep that in mind for next time:) This was just too much fun!

  5. I can’t wait until tomorrow. You had my husband and I munching and going yum. This was too good not to share with my cooking group. Here is the direct link to the photo of the cookie I made: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1905396710421&set=o.100981263293737&type=1&theater

    Thanks again DG!!!

  6. He is thanks to you:) We both ate two last night and right away looked at the plate of cookies and said we better put them away, lol. So now we can enjoy one cookie each once a day. When I visit my nieces and nephews I am going to make this for them. I can see their eyes now. It will be bigger than their hands, lol, too much fun. Okay I best to get off here and study a bit. Enjoy your day and thanks a million!

Leave a Reply

