Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Grandma’s Banana Bread

on April 16, 2011

Have you ever noticed, sometimes the best recipes are the simplest? And many times, the ones that are handed down generation to generation. I know in my husband’s grandmother’s day, most recipes werent’ written down. She cooked from memory or instinct. He likes to say that even a boloney sandwich tasted better at grandma’s! I don’t have any memories of my grandmother’s cooking. She lived far away and we didn’t see her often. Which may be why I gravitate to what I can find of that era, like this one from my husband’s grandmother, Helena. This recipe is very simple, delicious, completely unhealthy and very nearly idiot proof. Seriously. If you can read a recipe, and follow the instructions, you can make home-made banana bread that will impress and amaze your friends! Like I’ve said before, if I can do it, anyone can!

Nothin' says lovin' like Grandma's banana bread fresh from the oven!

Grandma’s Banana Bread

1 stick butter

1C sugar

1/8 tsp salt

2 eggs well beaten

2 C flour

1 tsp soda

3 very ripe bananas mashed

1. Cream together butter and sugar with hand or stand mixer

2. Add eggs and mix well

3. Sift flour, baking soda and salt and add to creamed mixture

4. Add mashed bananas and beat well

5. Bake in greased loaf pan 1 hr at 325F.

If you like, you can add 1 C chopped walnuts or pecans. I also like to put pecan halves on top. They toast and look really pretty on top, but they taste amazing!

One other thing I like to do, you can see from my pic, put it in a mini-loaf pan and bake 45 min at 350F, or until knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Yum!

8 responses to “Grandma’s Banana Bread

  1. valcitygal says:

    Those little loaves look fantastic! Nice job! Totally agree on the pecans – I’ve always stirred them into the batter but never thought to leave them on top. Must try this in future!

  2. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  3. I love banana bread and muffins. I can bake banana uffin wihtout any problem but when I bake the bread it is never fully cook. I wonder if it is the pan size or something for the amount used?

Leave a Reply

