Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cheaters Chicken and Dumplings

on April 1, 2011

I love me some chicken and dumplings, but have never attempted making it. The only times I’ve ever had it, it’s been prepared by a little old lady and I know for a fact, these little ladies take hours to boil the chicken, bone the chicken, make the dumplings-by hand-from scratch. And I’m also pretty certain there’s no real recipe involved. One main reason I have not attempted, I am impatient to the 10th degree, so there is no way I am going to undertake a recipe that will take me that long. Imagine my joy coming across a recipe, which I immediately altered, that would yield the delicious, golden comfort food in my crock pot! AAAAAAHHHH a choir of angels singing in the back ground! So, here is my version, which turned out incredibly well. So well in fact I will be making this again, with one minor alteration: more chicken broth. I used all I had, but another can I think would’ve made it perfect.

Cheaters Chicken and Dumplings

1lb boneless skinless chicken cut into 1″ pieces

2 cans cream of chicken soup

1 can chicken broth

1 can water

1 onion finely chopped

2 tsp pepper (if desired)

1 can refrigerated biscuits (10 count) torn

Step 1.  place everything into a 4 qt slow cooker and mix.

Step 2. cook on high 4 to 5 hours (or low 6 to 8 hours-while you’re at work), or until chicken is cooked through. Stir after 2 to 3 hours.

Step 3. thirty min prior to eating, put torn biscuits into the crock pot and stir to make sure biscuits don’t stick together.

Step 4. ladle into bowls and serve with biscuits or crusty bread.

Soup is very creamy, if you like it to be a bit thinner, add a second can of chicken broth (I will next time). To cut some calories, next time I will use the reduced fat version of cream of chicken soup and reduced fat biscuits. That will cut some of the guilt, but not much of the flavor.

MMMMM perfect for a busy work day and cold weather. Yum-o-rama!

4 responses to “Cheaters Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Cindy Holman says:

    I’m going to have to make this sometime – it sounds incredibly easy and delish!!!

Leave a Reply

