Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Another slow cooker recipe: French Onion Soup! Mai oui!

on March 28, 2011

Love me some French onion soup on a cold day, so imagine my delight when I came across this recipe (which I immediately modified)! I will share it with you as it mostly was originally and tell you next time I will not add quite so many onions, I’ll use half as many as it called for, it was very oniony, good, but oniony.

Slow cooker French onion soup

6 cans beef broth

6 medium onions chopped (I’ll use 3 next time)

3 bay leaves

3 tbsp butter

1-1/2 tsp worcestershire sauce

2tsp onion salt

3 tsp garlic salt

2 tbsp Kosher salt

5 to6 whole garlic cloves peeled (if desired)

French Bread sliced approximately 1″ thick and toasted

shredded parmesan/mozzarella/asiago cheese

1. Saute onions in butter until onions are crisp tender.

2. Put all ingredients except french bread and cheese in 4 qt slow cooker. Cook for 5 to 7 hrs or until onions are tender.

3. Remove bay leaves and  ladle into bowls and top with toasted French bread and a sprinkle of cheese. 

This is one of those recipes that makes a big batch and could easily be halved. It’s so delicious on a cold night without being too heavy. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Another slow cooker recipe: French Onion Soup! Mai oui!

  1. Barbara Kushner says:

    I love French Onion Soup and have made it from starch many times. My recipe is complicated and pretty much an all day event to make. I usually make it only by special request and have to be talked into or bribed. One such occasion was for my Mom’s birthday and we were expecting 12 or so people for dinner that night. My mom had asked me to make enough soup so she could enjoy the leftovers for a day or so. So I was making a HUGE batch of soup. David’s Mom, Shirley, was living with us (she suffered from dementia) and was very protective of me. She would get upset if she thought I was upset. I had a million things on the To Do List and started with slicing the onions. This was before I had a mandolin to help with the slicing, so I was slicing them by with a knive. She came into the kitchen and found me crying. I had to stop slicing onions and sit down to explain why I was crying. She accepted the answer and went back to her room. A few minutes later she came back into the kitchen and found me crying. So I had to stop slicing onions, sit down and explain again. The third or fourth time this happened she would not accept my answer and thought that David and I had a fight or something and I was using the onions as an excuse. Now David and I are both trying to explain that we did not have a fight and it just the onions. She finally accepted this answer and went back to her room. In the meantime, I am not making much progress with the onions or my To Do List!! Once again she comes back out into the kitchen and we have to explain all over again. About this time I am about ready to pull my hair out, so David had to take his Mom out for some coffee so I could take care of the onions and make some progress on the rest of the To Do List!!!

    I will have to try your recipe, that is when I have time to slice some onions!!

    • Oh Barbara! Bless her little heart. I didn’t slice the onions for this one, I used my food chopper and chopped them. although, the sliced would be nice too. it does make a really big batch. We were eating it for days! Let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

