Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I can’t believe I survived!

on March 8, 2011

Yes, it’s true. I’m really kind of surprised I made it out unscathed and I didn’t even have to use a cattle prod/taser/chair and whip or anything like that! Where was I? I was surrounded by the gnashing teeth, flying fists and bouncy feet of a classroom of 2nd graders! My daughter’s teacher had an appointment and asked if I could sit in for her for a couple of hours. Sure. How hard can it be, right?

Um, ok, stop right there. My mother was a teacher for eons it seems and I always heard the stories of underappreciation. Not to mention we’re in the state that is next to last as far as teacher pay goes. Which doesn’t lend itself to a lot of people wanting to stay here and teach. So, the ones who are here, are the ones who really want to be here, it’s not for the money that’s for sure.

And yes, it’s tough. Especially right now in the times of cutbacks on school funding and increasing class sizes. You try dealing with 25 to 27 eight year olds. They’re too smart for their own good and not much gets past them. Not to mention, they’re trying to pull one over on me because they think I don’t know any better! For some crazy reason, they think I was born on a Monday, and it was yesterday! No, seriously, they were good, for the most part. 

The moral of my story today, if you have children in school, thank their teachers. Give them little gifts for Christmas or their birthdays. Show them your thanks. They really do have the most important job on the planet. Without them, we’d still be living in caves, carrying clubs around. Or if you are the one in school, take care of your teacher, they are preparing you for the rest of your life, even if you can’t fathom why you have to take that speech class, or how algebra is going to figure in the rest of your life as a lawyer or physical therapist.

Leave a Reply

