Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oh yeah!

on February 23, 2011

Did you know that when you walk 11,000 steps in a day, your feet get really tired? Ha! neither did I, until today! I have been working a book fair at my children’s school and it involves a lot of walking and being on my feet. I broke out the pedometer yesterday, just for grins and giggles. Yesterday I hit over 9,000. Not too bad. Considering a couple of weeks ago, my daily total was probably about 50! Well, maybe a little more than that, but not much. 

Wanna know something else? 11,000+ steps equates to over 7 miles. That will help burn off those extra lbs I packed on in my fervor to add extra insulation for our unusually cold winter (that lasted all of two weeks)!  Or maybe it was my ardent love of baking. Hm. Either way, means my jeans don’t fit me properly after. But, today, they did fit better. Not as well as I’d like, but better, and I’ll take that!

And, you’ll be soooo happy to hear, I’ve been able to maintain 1400  to 1500 calories a day and I think my body’s getting used to it. Here’s why I’m thinking that. I don’t feel like I want to chew the finish off the table…all the time! Oh, and I got on the scale today and I think I”m down 3lbs.  Eat less, move more is working for me!

I do have another tool that’s helping me remain honest. A food log. I write down everything I eat. What’s better, I’m doing it online on www.everydayhealth.com. It’s free and I enter everything that I eat and it tracks the calories. Then I enter the exercise I’ve done, including things like grocery shopping and showering, because they do burn calories.  Then I get a total at the end of the day, whether I”m over or under on my calories. It’s pretty cool. It tells me how many calories I need to eat to lose, maintain, or gain weight from my present weight. I don’t know many who WANT to gain weight, but it’s there.

Here’s to this being not just a ‘diet’, but a lifestyle change. To be more conscious of what I’m eating and what I”m doing all the time, and teaching my children how to eat better as well. And the upside, I plan on rocking my shorts this summer! And who knows, I may even brave a bikini, but let’s not go shopping just yet!

2 responses to “Oh yeah!

  1. Hi DG I swinging by to check on you:) Just finish reading your post…great job! I am so proud of you that your walking more, eating right, and more importantly sharing your new lifestyle with the children.

Leave a Reply

