Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Adventures with Mac N Cheese

on February 9, 2011

After being snowed in for a week now, I think I’ve made nearly every single comfort food in my recipe box. Except this one. I have never attempted home made mac n cheese. My kids have always been perfectly content with the blue box kind. I of course, jazz it up a bit w/extra cheese, but it’s still powdered cheese stuff that’s the base. Last night I made goulash, the easy version-spaghetti sauce w/elbow macaroni, hardly worth noting, except that I had quite a bit of cooked macaroni leftover and didn’t want to throw it out. Fast forward to today. I open the fridge, see the pasta and a light bulb comes on, *DING*, and yes, light bulbs do make that noise, didn’t you know? I scoured the internet for a recipe and kind of used one and added a few of my own things. As usual. So, here’s what I did.

1-1/2 to 2 C uncooked macaroni

3 tbsp flour

5 tbsp butter, divided

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1-1/2 C 2% milk

4 oz shredded kojack cheese

2 oz-ish processed cheese (I used Velveeta)

3 tbsp plain bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 375F

Cook pasta according to pkg instructions. Drain.

In a small sauce pan, melt butter. Add flour, salt and pepper and stir well. Gradually add in milk and stir well. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly until just thickened. Add cheeses and stir until melted.

Add cooked pasta to pot with cheese sauce and mix well.

Pour into 2qt greased baking dish.

Melt last 1tbsp butter and mix with bread crumbs. Sprinkle over mac n cheese and bake uncovered for 30 min, or until heated thru and crust is golden brown.

Oh man, this is so good, but I’ll tell you now, it’s really rich, so beware!

I promise, I’ll post a pic later!

Leave a Reply

