Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Someone please, kill me now!

on February 8, 2011

Am I a whiner? Yes, I freely accept that title today. Go ahead, tell me to suck it up. I know many people live with much worse winter conditions. But, those people are expecting this kind of stuff and their cities and states have the resources to deal with it.  Ours, well, ours is doing the best they can I suppose. But it does not involve snow removal of any residential streets. Our children have been out of school now 6 days and counting, not because the main roads are still bad, but because the neighborhood streets, where most elementary schools are located, are atrocious. And we’re supposed to get another 8 to 12″ of snow tonight. Ugh. So so tired of it. Is it spring yet? I will say this: at least we have electricity. Three years ago we had a monster ice storm that took out the power to over half of the state, including us. Nearly everything in the metro was closed. We were in the dark for 4 days and it seriously felt like 4 years. We have a gas fireplace, but oddly enough, it didn’t really put out much heat. By the time we finally got our power back, we were all at wit’s end and really cranky. I’m very thankful that my best friend had power and let us use her apartment during the day. We would’ve slept over there but it was a tiny place and we would’ve been on the floor. Sheesh. I’m getting chilly bumps just thinking about that time. Thank you God we have electricity. As long as I have power, I can manage anything, but boy is it ever getting old.

So, I’ll ask now, is it spring yet?

3 responses to “Someone please, kill me now!

  1. 1.5 more month to go…hang in there kiddo!

  2. I know. It’s been a difficult few weeks. Here at my house, we ended up getting about 20″ of snow in two weeks. That’s more than we normally get in an entire season! My children are going back to school tomorrow for the first time in 2 weeks. Absolutely record-breaking in all the wrong ways! But, thankfully, we are heading into a week that will include temps in the 70’s, if you can believe that! It’s 60 today which goes a long way to melting off all of this snow. Now we’ll just have ankle-deep mud and muck to deal with. But hey, I’ll take mud and muck any day over a foot of snow! I hope you are staying warm!

Leave a Reply

