Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s the Little Things That Make Me Happy!

on January 27, 2011

This may sound silly, but I am really excited about the prospect of having some new restaurants in town. Don’t you already have enough? you say. Well, of course we do! We have our own ‘Restaurant Row’ just like they do in Dallas. Literally dozens of restaurants all within rock throwing distance of one another. Oddly enough they all seem to fit into a very few categories: Burgers, Mexican, steakhouse, Chinese buffet.

So, wanna know what I”m all wound up over? More burgers, in the potential form of In N Out. They haven’t even opened the patty processing plant in Dallas yet (a requirement) and I’m ready for a burger! If you haven’t heard of In N Out, it’s a West coast chain. Started way back in the day and they still only have a few things on the menu: burger, fries, milkshake, soda. What’s the big deal? You can watch them cut the potatoes for the fries. And the burgers. OMG they are so good. I can’t begin to explain. And if you’ve had In N Out, you know why I”m so excited!

La Madeleine is another regional chain that will hopefully be making an appearance here in the not-so-distant future. I know, I know. Aren’t there enough chain restaurants already? Well, I don’t think so! Especially when it’s something totally different, like La Madeleine. It’s a country French themed place with counter service food. It’s very cozy and quaint and they have amazing fresh pastries and bread. Not to mention the potato galette! I can taste it already. Along with a fresh quiche, a cup of amazing coffee and a fireplace, I’m a happy girl.

Beer? Oh yes, I’ll have a pint. The Flying Saucer is the other one that’s got me excited. Once again, regional chain. These people come up with these fantastic ideas for new restaurants but it always seems to be in Dallas or LA! The Flying Saucer is one of those funky, eclectic places. They’ve got German food, bratwurst, knackwurst, hot potato salad and about 100 beers on tap. Yes. An entire WALL dedicated to beers from around the world. the place is decorated with plates. On the walls. On the ceiling. On the posts. Saucers, get it. Small plates. They’re all different, probably collected from hundreds of garage sales. Anyway, during the day, it’s a cool restaurant. But at night, it becomes an even cooler bar with live music. You can’t go wrong!

I’m the geek who emails her favorite places, begging them to come to my town.  I sat here one night last week and emailed all of these places and actually got responses, which not only made me happy b/c someone answered my email. But also at the thought of getting some of them here! My suggestion to you, if you go to a restaurant that you like in a different city, send them a note and let them know how much  you like their establishment and they should come to your town! Who knows, it may work! I’ll keep you posted on when/if they make it!

Leave a Reply

