Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Real, live brain cramp?

on January 7, 2011

What I’m about to tell you is true, the names have been omitted to protect the innocent, I mean clueless.

My son is in 5th grade, his last year at elementary school. At the end of the year, they have ‘5th grade recognition’. It’s a program, slide-show,  the kids get t-shirts, all kinds of really fun stuff to commemorate their time at the school. I thought I’d signed up to assist with this program, but had not heard anything about it until a notice came home from school earlier this week. On the notice was the email of the person whom I  believe is charing the committee.

Being the dutiful volunteer-type mom, I sent her an EMAIL asking her to put my name on the list of people working on this project. In her EMAIL response, she asks for my EMAIL address. This is exactly what she said, ‘No prob. could you send me your email.’ I am totally, dead serious people. In her EMAIL she asks for my EMAIL. Um, just so we’re clear, the last time I checked, the return EMAIL address can be found at the top of the EMAIL, right? I have no idea how this program is going to turn out if this person is in charge and doesn’t even realize what she’s writing. It probably wouldn’t have made me laugh so hard if she’d said something along the lines of  ‘Oh, sure. I tried to email you at a different address, but it came back, should I put this address on my group list?’ You know, kind of like asking someone which phone number is best to contact them.

Semantics people. Just like mom told you. It’s not what you say, but how you say it! A poorly worded sentence can make you sound like a complete dolt, even though you may be a PhD from MIT.

Now you’ve had your good laugh, go enjoy your Friday!

3 responses to “Real, live brain cramp?

  1. valcitygal says:

    Hahahahahahahaaaaaaaa 🙂 I needed that today.

    • Glad I could help! Frightening that she’s in charge of something, isn’t it? Well, hopefully there are enough other people w/functioning brain cells that we can make this thing happen for the kids!

  2. Cindy Holman says:

    My friend JoJo – who has her degree in communication would LOVE this!! So funny!

Leave a Reply

