Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cranberry walnut scones?

on January 3, 2011

When I hear the word ‘scone’, I think dry, crumbly biscuit. But that’s just me. Maybe the ones I’ve had really should not be indicative of what they really are. Well you know me by now and my fondness for trying new recipes and cookbooks, so when I was thumbing through a Bisquick cookbook (Yes, a Bisquick cookbook. It was on a $5 rack and never being one to turn down a cheap cookbook, I got it in hopes of learning some new ways to use my Bisquick besides pancakes and waffles) and saw this recipe, I was hesitant. Mainly because I was afraid they’d taste like the generic, boring drop biscuits that I always end up with, no matter what I add to the batter. Ha ha! Look at what came out of my oven!

I know, they look like Mickey Mouse, but are so delish!

Cranberry Walnut Scones

2 tbsp water

1C dried cranberries

2C original or reduced fat Bisquick

1/4C sugar

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

3tbsp firm butter or margarine

2/3C  buttermilk or skim milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

2/3C chopped walnuts

1 tbsp butter or margarine melted

1. preheat oven to 425. pour water over cranberries in 1qt microwave safe dish, cover w/plastic wrap, keeping one side open to vent. Microwave on high 1 min. Uncover and allow to cool.

2. Mix Bisquick, sugar & cinnamon in a large bowl. Cut in 3 tbsp butter using pastry blender or crisscrossing 2 knives until mixture looks like fine crumbs. stir in milk, vanilla, cranberries and walnuts until just moistened.

3. Drop dough by 1/4 cupfuls onto greased cookie sheet. Sprinkle w/additional sugar if desired. Bake 10 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Brush w/1tbsp melted butter over warm scones and sprinkle with sugar if desired.

yield 12 scones. Omigosh these are so good. It turns out, my fear that they would be dry and crumbly and taste like bland biscuit mix was unnecessary. The friends I shared them with looked at me as if I’d just sprouted a second head when I offered them up, but after tasting them, they decided I wasnt’ a mutant after all! My husband couldn’t stop eating them! They are so delish! many times I try to cut fat out of a recipe by subbing applesauce, I don’t know how it would turn out in something like this. If you have done that, I’m interested to know the result! Enjoy!

2 responses to “Cranberry walnut scones?

  1. Cindy Holman says:

    My one weakness – scones! I LOVE THEM! And these look AMAZING!

  2. Oh Cindy you will LOVE them! They are super easy and really yum! No rolling/kneading/cutting required! Let me know what you think if you try them!

Leave a Reply

