Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chicken and broccoli ring

on January 2, 2011

I was a Pampered Chef consultant for a while and this was a delicious and easy thing to put together. There are many variations on the filling, but this was really one of my favorites. A delicious way to get my kids to eat broccoli. And a dinner in itself!

This works best on a round pizza stone. I haven’t tried it on a cookie sheet, but the instructions will be the way that I make it. If you try it on a different kind of baking sheet, let me know how it turns out!

Chicken and Broccoli ring

2C coarsely chopped, cooked chicken

1-1/2C coarsely chopped broccoli

1c (4oz) shredded cheddar cheese

1/3C mayo

2tsp dill seasoning blend

1/2c chopped red pepper

1/4tsp salt

1 garlic clove, pressed

1 egg white, lightly beaten

2 cans refrigerated crescent roll dough

1/4C slivered almonds

1. mix the chopped chicken, broccoli, mayo, red pepper, dill mix, garlic, salt and cheese in a large bowl and set aside.

2. open the cans of crescent dough and separate them into 16 triangles.

3. Arrange the triangles on the baking stone with the wide end to the center of the stone and the points hanging off the side, in an overlapping manner. Using a rolling pin, roll the dough toward the center to seal the edges between the crescents. The center will remain open, looking almost like a sunburst.

4. using a large spoon or scoop, place the filling on the ring in the widest part of the crescents, go all the way around. It will make mounds.

5. bring the pointed ends up, over the filling and tuck them under the inside edge of the dough. Do this all the way around until all loose ends are neatly tucked under the center.

6. Brush the crescents with egg and sprinkle slivered almonds on top.

7. Place the stone with the ring into a 375 oven for 18 minutes, or until golden brown.

8. slice, serve and enjoy.

I love dinner that you can hold in your hand that is delicious and good for you at the same time.

You can see the point of the crescent is to the center and the wider part is on the bottom. YUM!

I will make a couple of recommendations here. Do no use Miracle Whip for mayo, the taste of the MW overpowers everything else in the ring and that’s really all you can taste.  Also, when I cook my chicken, I season it like I normally do for grilling, cook it on the grill and it gives great flavor. I have tried it with just boiled chicken breasts, but the dill seasoning and salt you add to the mix are just not enough, that leaves the filling kind of on the bland side.

9 responses to “Chicken and broccoli ring

  1. Young Wifey says:

    That looks and sounds delicious! I usually sub. sour cream for mayo in recipes. Happy New Year!

  2. Happy New Year!!! I see you been busy and cooking up a storm. This recipe is my favorite so far from you. It look so delicious and healthy…great way to start off the New Year!

    • Thank you! It is so delish and easy to boot! Let me know how you like it if you try it!

    • Well, I haven’t been cooking up too much of a storm, these are some of the recipes I’ve been meaning to post and that’s part of my New Year’s promise, to stay on top of my posts and continue sharing good food and tips!

      • I let you know when I try it. I know all ready it is not going to be beautiful as yours. I suck at following directions, lol, it is my curse of disobedience:) I have notice you are full filling your promise of posting photos:) The first thing when I came to your home page earlier I was shock, lol, but in a good way. Keep it up! Proud of ya!

      • ha ha! You’re funny! yes, I am posting more pics and it’s all for you! Hey, you know, I am terrible at following instructions too! or I’ll read it once, think I know what I”m doing and end up with something completely different! Besides, what it looks like is not as important as how it tastes in my book!

      • I really think you are my twin from different parents, lol. I am so with you on how you think. The more importance this is how the food taste. Their are so many ways of driving, swimming, walking, and cooking. Who say recipes are mark in stone. I say improvise and make it to your liking.

      • You are right on there. Recipes are def not in stone, I see them more as a guideline. Lots of times the first time I make something, I’ll follow the recipe. But then the next time (if there is a next time), I’ll tweak it to our liking.

Leave a Reply

