Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What were you doing 20 years ago?

on December 15, 2010

Yeah, right, as if! ‘You expect me to remember something that far back?’ you’re thinking. And I hear ya, loud and clear. Normally, my memory is what a friend of mine called ‘half-timers’. No disrespect to those with Alzheimer’s, but I can only remember what I”m supposed to remember half of the time, hence ‘half-timers’.

No, really, I’m asking that question because I just realized what I was doing 20 years ago and it really surprised me.  For a few reasons. First of all, my memory certainly isn’t what it used to be. Most days I can barely remember what I ate for dinner the night before, let alone what happened two decades ago. See above paragraph.

TWO DECADES. Man that sounds like such a long time. To some people it is a lifetime, literally. Others, a drop in the bucket. Me, well, kind of in between those two I suppose.

I realized that twenty years ago, I left everything I knew behind and moved to Los Angeles. Yup. I was 23 and thought I had nothing to lose and no better offers, so why not? I can always come home. Twenty years ago, I spent my first Thanksgiving and Christmas ever away from my family because I couldn’t afford to com home. It was tough. Thankfully, my roommate’s ex-boyfriend’s family took me in. Yeah, sounds like a tv show, huh? They were very kind and shared their holidays with a lonely little Okie girl who was basically an orphan. the fact that they lived in a freaking gorgeous home, I’m talking Better Homes and Gardens gorgeous, in Dana Point (Orange County,on the shore) completely blew me away. I’d come from very humble beginnings and was just floored by how everything was done there. They were not pretentious at all, which was almost what I was expecting.

I still have a difficult time comprehending that 1990 was 20 years ago, I think I’m stuck in a time warp. It still seems like it should be just a few years ago.I’m not saying there haven’t been bumps and bruises along the way. I’ve got plenty of scars to show for those years, physical and otherwise. But even though I’ve been through and done many things that should make my life feel longer, I don’t feel old. I was 33 when my first child was born and I didn’t feel like I was old enough to have children! To this day, I claim 36 and seriously do not feel like I should be as old as that calendar tells me I really am. Unfortunately, my stupid knees joyfully remind me on a regular basis that the mileage on my chassis has not been as easy as maybe it could’ve been! Isn’t that what they say? It isn’t the years, it’s the mileage. some days the mileage feels like all highway. Other days, it’s the 405 in LA at rush hour.

Anyway, I was just reminiscing and thinking of how life-changing that move was and how thankful I am that I had the guts to do it. I discovered that I’m stronger than I thought I was. I can do anything that I put my mind to. People are not always what they seem at first glance. Earthquakes can be fun, especially when they’re small and dont’ cause damage. Traffic in SoCal really is as bad as they say it is. The cost of living in LA is really as insane as they say it is. And, if you have an opportunity to do something, take it. Don’t let once-in-a-lifetime chances pass you by. Never, ever live with regret, life is too short to say, ‘I really wish I would’ve…..’

Now, I will be really worried if the next 20 go by just as quickly. I just want to enjoy my life, my children growing and the next adventure with my wonderful husband. Life is good, I suppose I must remember to slow down and enjoy every day with all of me.

Leave a Reply

