Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Got apples? Make this OFF THE HOOK dessert!

on September 22, 2010

Ah fall. The time when apples are plentiful and inexpensive. I love it. I love fresh, crisp, juicy apples. But I also love a good apple dessert, pie, tart, muffins, cake. All of it, if it’s sweet and gooey, count me in! I recently made this again (my oven has been on hiatus, remember?) and remembered how much I love it! If you are into delicious apple desserts, and especially ones that are EASY, you gotta try this one!

Quick and Easy Cinnamon Apple Tart

1 refrigerated pie crust          

1 apple, peeled, cored and chopped

2 tbsp apple jelly

1/4 c cinnamon baking chips

2 tbsp sugar

1/3 c sliced almonds

1 tsp lemon juice

FROSTING:

1/4 tsp almond extract

1 c powdered sugar

1 to 2 tbsp milk

1. in a small bowl, toss the apple w/lemon juice and set aside

2. on lightly floured surface, roll out pie crust to 14″ circle

3. transfer to parchment paper lined baking sheet

4. spread jelly to within 2″ of edges

5. sprinkle with apple mixture, sugar, cinnamon chips, and almonds

6. fold edges over filling, leaving the center uncovered

7. brush folded pastry with milk

8. bake at 400F for 20 to 25 min or until golden brown

9. slide tart on parchment paper to rack to cool

10. in a small bowl mix the almond extract, powdered sugar and milk to desired consistency. drizzle over tart.

This is super easy and looks impressive. I have baked it on a round pizza stone without parchment and it comes out fine, I just can’t transfer it to a cooling rack. I love to make it for guests, it is beautiful. Sorry I don’t have pictures, it was gone before I could grab my camera! it would also be great with ice cream or whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

