Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

And now, back to our regularly scheduled programming….

on September 20, 2010

Hey everyone! I have not shared any recipes the past few posts. I had other things on my mind, but tonight, food is on my mind! Delicious, easy, healthy, meal-in-one-pot kind of food is on my mind. Sound good? Well, pull up your cuppa joe (or vino) and take a gander at what I’ve got today!

Creamy Bowtie Pasta with Chicken and Broccoli

10 oz uncooked whole wheat bow tie pasta

3 to 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to 1/2″ thickness and cut in half

2 C spaghetti sauce

2 to 3 cloves of garlic minced (or pressed)

 3 tbsp Italian salad dressing (I use Ken’s Italian with aged Romano)

4 oz reduced fat cream cheese

2 to 3 C broccoli florets

shredded parmesan

1. Cook pasta according to package instructions. Add broccoli for last 3 minutes of cooking.

2. Heat dressing in a large non-stick skillet on medium heat. Add chicken and garlic. Cook 5 min. Turn chicken and continue cooking until chicken is cooked through.

3. Drain pasta and broccoli and return to pan and set aside.

4. Add spaghetti sauce and cream cheese to chicken. Cook on medium/low heat until cream cheese is completely melted and mixture is well blended.

5. Coat chicken with sauce, remove from pan and keep warm.

6. Add sauce mixture to pasta/broccoli and mix well.

7. Place pasta in bowls and place chicken on top, sprinkle with parmesan.

Serve with a nice green salad and you’re good to go!

Doesnt’ that sound terrific? It is! so quick and easy, all of the major food groups and it comes together in about 20 to 30 minutes. Oh, another tip, rather than throwing away the broccoli stem, I chop it up and put it in the pot with the rest of the broccoli. It cooks up nicely and there’s no need to waste it!

Enjoy! And let me know what you think!

2 responses to “And now, back to our regularly scheduled programming….

  1. sounds delish!!

    i have a question….is there a reason you don’t put photos up? i’m a visual kinda gal ya see… 🙂 just askin’!! 🙂

    • I’m sorry. I’m such a slacker! After we finished eating I thought ooooh I need to post this and didn’t have any pics of it. And the same thing about the tart. I will try to do better, I promise!

Leave a Reply

