Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The BEST way to lose a job (or not get one)

on September 18, 2010

I don’t consider myself to be hard-nosed most of the time. What I am is a stickler for professional behavior though. My dad instilled that in me at a young age. When you want to be treated as a professional, you must behave as a professional. Especially while on the job. When you’re at home is, of course, a different story.

You may have read my posts about our kitchen reno project. I don’t expect a lot, I do expect you to do what you tell me you will do. Sometimes it’s not a miracle you can perform, I just expect you to deliver on what you promised to do when I agreed to have you do the work. Very simple.

Yesterday, we had an appointment for a granite guy to come and measure our kitchen and give us a bid on replacing our countertops with granite. Am I excited at the prospect? Heck yeah I am. So when he didn’t show yesterday, ALL DAY, and didn’t call, I was disappointed and unhappy. I told my husband that if he behaves this way when he’s coming to bid the job, that is how he’s going to treat us when he’s doing the job, and that’s not impressive at all. At nearly 8PM last night I got tail-between-the-legs email from him apologizing and giving me his song and dance about being caught on a job and not remembering our appointment until then! So what, I hire you and you forget about our job? Uh uh, no way mister. I am totally turned off by him and he will not be bidding on our kitchen. I’d rather live a little longer with my laminate than deal with someone who is so unprofessional. My husband’s argument is well, at least he sent an email. Well, he did do that, in an effort to salvage a potential job. I’m sorry, that’s not enough.  This is an investment that I don’t take lightly, neither does my husband, and I”m not going to take a chance just because he claims to be the cheapest. He may also be the worst ever!

So, my friends in the contracting business, you probably already know this but to lose a job, or not get one, just be unprofessional, miss your appointments, give excuses when the person who has hired you points out things that need to be corrected and that’ll do it for you. Mostly. Not everyone is like me, I know. I do believe in second chances, in certain circumstances. When I don’t know you from Joe Schmo (no disrespect to Mr. Schmo), the only chance you get is the first one, so do your best to impress. You know what they say about first impressions, if yours is bad, don’t expect to make a second one!

8 responses to “The BEST way to lose a job (or not get one)

  1. I’m with you on this one.
    I’m far from being hard faced but when it comes to paying for a service or product I do believe there should be a mannerism and respect. As a customer I want to feel confident about my purchase, that if something goes wrong I can approach the seller and work on resolving the issue.
    But if the standard slips at first base, especially when a lot of money is involved, I don’t want to take the risk that it could be the beginning of a pattern.
    For over 20 yrs I have been self employed and I’ve known some good companies/services and what makes them good is their customer service during and after a sale. Me, I insist on my after service after I have made a sale or taught a class, I want my buyers to believe in what they have had as well as me. Some ladies find cheaper out there, but not only does standard slip but they dont feel the confidence they feel with me.
    That says it all, in my humble opinion! 🙂
    🙂

    • Thanks for your thoughts Debs. I knew I wasn’t the only one who felt that way! I totally agree about the whole cheaper vs not as inexpensive. I’d rather pay a little more and have good customer service on the other side, or potentially even a better product to start with. So this guy may be the cheapest in town, but he could also do a shoddy job or use subpar products. We don’t make decisions quickly on investments like this because we want to make the best decision rather than rushing in, and having buyers remorse after the fact.

  2. good for you and bad for him, lol. He was probably relying that his price will still keep you and your husband interested. I guess he recently learn the price is not the only important thing that is important, lol

    • You are too right! Price is one part of the picture, it’s not the whole picture. I’d much rather pay a bit more and know that I’m going to get a good job done by a professional, then to pay less and get a shoddy job that I regret.

  3. Cindy Holman says:

    Hang in there – it will be worth it all when it’s done – I hate remodel projects and we’ve done PLENTY of them – had to deal with people and on and on it goes – but it’s always worth it!!

    • Thanks Cindy! I will carry on! It’s not a huge reno and I’m glad for that, it’s several things that we are doing: windows, kitchen, carpet, all of the fun things! Windows are taking precedence over anything else right now. They are the HAVE to part of this equation, then everything else will fall in line! My husband keeps joking saying, maybe we should just move, then we wont’ have to do this! ha ha! Yeah, but we’d have to MOVE! if i ever move again, it would only be for one of two reasons. Either he got a job out of town or a promotion requiring relocation, or our kids have grown and moved out and we are downsizing!

  4. Cindy Holman says:

    Greg has totally remodeled our present home – one painting job landed him in the emergency room because he was doing the ceiling a cricked his neck – it was bad he couldn’t even move by the morning and it took my daughter and me to dress him and get him into the car to go to the ER. And would you believe that when the economy picks up – we actually thinking about another
    ‘fixer upper’? Aren’t we completely insane??? Sure saves a lot of money though. I think it’s easier to just move with everything done already.

    • Oh man! That is really bad. Ok, speaking as a chiropractor, I will tell you to have him take frequent breaks any time he must look up for extended periods of time, or stand at such an angle that he doesn’t have to look straight up, or do what Michaelangelo did and put up a scaffold so he can lie flat on his back! I hope everything turned out ok for him after that!

      I don’t know what I’d think about a total remodel. Just having my kitchen out of commission for a few days was making me crazy! I knw if we get granite, I will be in the same position, but they’ve told me it’s a one day job to install. But, that’s on the back burner for now. Windows are the priority. We’ll see what’s left in the budget after them!

Leave a Reply

