Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Do you ever have that ‘Charlie Brown’ feeling?

on September 13, 2010

I know you know what I mean. You’ve seen Charlie Brown, right? What I”m talking about is the part where he’s going to kick the ball and Lucy promises she won’t move it this time. So poor Charlie takes Lucy at her word, gives it his best running start, kicks with all his might and BAM! He’s suddenly on his back looking at the sky and doesn’t know how he got there.

That’s kind of how I feel right now, frustrated, deflated, aggravated. We were having issues with our children’s school bus picking up the kids too early and dropping them at school before the doors would open, so they are all standing there unsupervised and unattended until the school opens. Call me crazy, but I don’t care to have my precious child standing around like that every morning. And for some stupid reason, they’ve started having a late start date on Fridays, which left them outside for 10 minutes, not just 5. I don’t particularly care for either of those scenarios. Dont’ get me wrong, we live in a very safe part of town, and school is in a nice neighborhood, but bad things happen everywhere. And I do know who my children’s parents are and it’s not just a matter of someone else doing something bad, but my children could have an accident and get injured.

Knowing this, I sent a note to the director of transportation and our school’s principal and requested they review the pick up time and simply adjust it by 5 or 10 minutes. An easy fix. Here’s where I get the Charlie Brown feeling. No one of consequence, no one in the transportation department responded to me. Well, I take that back. The asst director responded after my third email to say they were working on it. But that was the last I heard from him. when I finally got the info on the change, it came as a forward from our principal. I’m sorry, but I don’t appreciate being ignored. It would’ve been really easy to just drop a note and say, ‘yes, we are looking at it’  or ‘here’s what we’re doing’. Instead I got silence and that just pisses me off. It’s unprofessional and rude in my poor little mind. My friend called about it and she was given a totally different story.

I can totally relate to Charlie.  AAAAAARRRRRGGGGHHHH!

I’ll get over it, I’m just unhappy at how it was handled. How I was handled. blech.

5 responses to “Do you ever have that ‘Charlie Brown’ feeling?

  1. Cindy Holman says:

    Totally agree – I HATE (did I mention the word….HATE?) Silence of ANY kind. What’s up with that, anyway?????

    • I do too! It just makes me even more angry, when I get no response. It’s not like I”m some wack job trying to cause problems. And I know I was not the only person discussing it with them. Really really ticks me off! GRRRR

  2. Cindy Holman says:

    Are you on facebook, Cheryl?

  3. Cindy Holman says:

    I understand completely. But I hope you will feel like you DO know me – at least after a while – it would be fun to chat with you on there – we have lots of fun and my friends are a great daily encouragement to me. I love to see the pictures and feel like I’m a part of their lives – as well as those with me. If you change your mind – look me up Cindy Swaffield Holman – I’ll be waiting to see you!

Leave a Reply

