Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Home Improvement, Part 1

on September 11, 2010

Well, we have jumped in feet first on our first real, major home improvement project.  Although I would love more than anything to rip out our kitchen  cabinets and start all over again, it is what I would call um, cost prohibitive, yeah that’s the best way to put it. Especially when what we really need is new windows. Our house is only 11 years old, but the windows are crap, builders grade and allow so much leakage, if you pass by a window  in winter, even the ones that don’t open, you can feel the cold air flowing in. Brrr. And since spending loads of cash on something that isn’t falling apart, and that one minor detail that we are not exactly what I’d call movie star rich, the practical side of my husband reasons with me that if we have our cabinets refinished, rather than replaced, that could leave enough in our budget (theoretically) to have granite installed. What? Granite? Really? Ok, now you have my attention! Practical sometimes equals boring, but when you start teasing me with the possibility of  being able to have granite, which I’ve always wanted but wasn’t sure I’d ever be able to afford, I can be practical!

I’ll keep you posted on the outcome and post before and after pictures if it looks as good as I think it can! It certainly can’t look any worse! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

