Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I AM the sneakiest mom EVER!

on August 24, 2010

Yes, that’s my new title! I’m feeling very proud of myself today and I may just break my arm patting myself on the back! Why, you ask? Well, here’s the deal.  Last week I bought a spaghetti squash just because I wanted to try something new. I do that, try new things, more recipes than actually foods, but hey, I’m adventurous so why not?

Yesterday while my children were at school, I cooked the spaghetti squash in the microwave, cut it open and strung it out, then I put it in a bowl and in the fridge, so they didn’t see where the ‘pasta’ came from! I made a delicious spaghetti sauce and meatballs to go with it. I will say, the ‘pasta’ had a different texture, a bit of a crunch that I wasn’t expecting. It wasn’t bad, but it had more of a texture than the pasta I normally use. Before putting the food on the table, I tossed the ‘pasta’ with the sauce and put meatballs on top with some shredded parmesan.

When I put the ‘pasta’ on the table I told my children that it was a special Italian pasta that’s very expensive and I found it on sale and wanted to give it a try. We sat down and dug in.  The kids were a bit hesitant at first, but they actually ate it! My daughter ate several bites and then complained that she didn’t like it. But she managed to get it all down! My son held up one bite and said, ‘This looks like pumpkin guts!’ You know, the stringy stuff you pull out of a pumpkin when you’re carving it? yeah, with the sauce on it, the ‘pasta’ had an orange tint to it. It was all I could do to not spew sauce and noodles all over him! He was closer to truth than he thought he was, but hey, who am I to tell him he’s eating the pumpkin’s cousin?

Will I serve it again? I would definitely, if I thought I could get away with it twice, but you know what they say about lightning. I’ll do it again maybe when they are a bit older. will i tell them what it is? Hmm, good question? I dunno. My  10 yo son still believes in Santa and the Tooth Fairy, I don’t know that I”m ready to burst that bubble just yet!

So….what veggies  have you slipped into your food lately?

14 responses to “I AM the sneakiest mom EVER!

  1. Cindy Holman says:

    Haha!!! That’s HILARIOUS!! Your son sounds like a very funny guy – reminds me a little of my son! My husband’s Dad used to ‘slip in’ a product called ‘vitacrunch’ in his families cereal – extra added vitamins or something and Greg and his brothers wouldn’t eat it unless it was cleverly hidden. ☺

    • Yep! I do everything I can to slip things in, he wont’ eat alot of veggies, my girl, she’s a different story, but not him. My great aunt put shredded carrots in her mashed potatoes and told my 6 yo brother they have orange butter in Seattle! (We were in Bremerton) i don’t think he ever forgave her when he found out!

  2. Cindy Holman says:

    We are in Renton – really close to Bremerton – when did you live there?

  3. valcitygal says:

    What a great story – you go girl!!! 🙂

    • Thanks Val! Some day, if you guys have kids, you’ll totally get the whole sneakiness! things I totally love to make and eat, my son especially turns his nose up to. We have the one bite rule. They must take at least one bite of something new before deciding whether or not they like it. But, I have been known to finely grate a squash into my spaghetti sauce too! ha ha! And no one even notices!

  4. Cindy- we never lived there, my mother has family in Bremerton, we went for a month in the summer of 76. We had a great time, it was my first trip to the ocean, man that water’s cold! There were lots of fun things to do there for young kids and I think we did them all!

  5. Barbara says:

    My mom and cousin share an apartment and my mom does not like to eat veggies. So when my cousin is cooking she sneaks them in. She will steam the veggies and puree them. She likes to put cauliflower in the mashed potatoes, it does not change the flavor or texture, unless you put too much in.

  6. Hey this is Cheru the webmaster of alphainventions. Are you from Oklahoma too?

  7. Cindy Holman says:

    I have a niece and nephew attending ORU in Tulsa – small world.

  8. […] I AM the sneakiest mom EVER! August 2010 13 comments 5 […]

Leave a Reply

