Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Easy peel tomatoes

on August 9, 2010

If you are like me, fresh, home-grown tomatoes are the best summer veggie. Whether on a sandwich or cut up with cottage cheese, I love them! And even more so if they are homegrown. My mom has had a garden for as long as I can remember and we’ve always had loads of tomatoes in summer. I recently learned a trick to peel the skin off. Here’s why I peel them: the skin can be tough, but also, I know for sure my mom uses OTC pesticide and if I can get that junk out of my food, I’m a happy girl.

My mother-in-law taught me this method and it works well. I know I could drop them in a pot of boiling water, but knowing me, I’d get distracted and end up with stewed tomatoes, rather than simply blanched ones that I can peel.

First  wash and cut out the core of the tomato with a paring knife. Hold the tomato in one hand and using the flat side of the blade, rub stripes on the tomato. I usually go side to side in strips about 1 to 2″ wide from top to bottom, all the way around the tomato. If you look at what you’re doing, you’ll notice a difference in the color between the before and after. This will separate the skin from the meat of the tomato. When you’ve made it all the way around, starting at the top of the tomato where you’ve removed the core, use the blade to get under the skin and hold the skin between your finger and the knife blade and gently peel it off the flesh. When I do it, most of the time it comes off in almost what I’d call sheets, fairly big pieces.

Is it more time consuming than blanching them? Maybe a little, but if you don’t want to risk ruining your beautiful tomato, it’s worth it. Let me know how it works for you!

8 responses to “Easy peel tomatoes

  1. Cindy Holman says:

    I have never grown tomatoes but have been tossing it around now for quite awhile – because I LOVE THEM!!! There’s nothing better than a tomato!! Now I just actually have to go and buy some tomato plants – this may be the ‘shove’ that I needed!!!!

    • Oh yeah! If you’ve got a nice sunny spot, go for it! There’s just nothing like them. They taste so much better than the ones you can buy at the grocery store, or even at a vegetable stand and I can’t explain it! I’ve got some in my freezer from last year I need to use. I found a site some time ago talking about how to blanch and peel them for cooking, which is my plan, to use them for sauce. As soon as it cools down and we’re not in the 5th ring of hell temperature-wise here, I’ll do it!

  2. Ok looks like i just found a new hobby then!! 😉 lol

    Seriously, I tried this and I think I’m just far too heavy handed so I asked my daughter to have a go. She gave up after 10 seconds and ate it whole!

    Say no more!!! 🙂

  3. I haven’t tried it with Romas (plum) tomatoes, I’m not sure what kind my mother grows, but they get about as big as a baseball. It doesn’t take much pressure, really, you’ll see the color change in the before and after. I’m not surprised your daughter gave up, it can take a little patience, and I know younger people, mine especially, want it to happen NOW! If you havent’ used pesticides or the skin isn’t tough, you probably don’t need to peel them. Give it another try and let me know how it goes!

  4. Cindy Holman says:

    Okay – going to get a tomato plant (or two) today!!! It’s been an awful summer in Seattle – but we’re having a hot and sunny weekend – so maybe summer is staying for a while – who knows? Anyway – I’m going to try and grow me some tomatoes!!! By the way – I don’t know your first name – unless you don’t want people to know it – then I understand.

  5. Good luck w/the tomatoes! We have had a wayyyy sunny summer! I passed a bank time/temp today and it read 205! Um, even though it felt like that, it was really only about 95 at the time. My patio thermometer is in the shade and it’s reading 107 right now. urgh, ready for summer to be over already! Oh, btw, my name is Cheryl 😀

  6. Cindy Holman says:

    Thank Cheryl – I went with my husband looking for tomato plants yesterday and would you believe – I’m too LATE in the season!! Darn it anyway – so next spring – I will be ALL OVER IT!!!

    • Well crudola. I was wondering if it might be too late to start, but since I”m not a gardener, I had no idea. Next year, when they start putting out the plants in spring at the garden shops, hop right out and get some!

Leave a Reply

