Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Great Cheesecake Experiment

on July 22, 2010

Something you may not know about me from my posts is that I love to bake. And I mean serious love! I would bake something sweet and decadent, or maybe not so decadent, but just yum, every single day if I could. Alas, summer has me avoiding the on switch of my oven as if it’s poison ivy. It just gets too hot in my little part of the world to add insult to mother nature’s injury!

There are occasional circumstances when temperatures be damned, I’m turning it on anyway! Like today. My husband’s boss has invited several other managers over to her house for dinner. And being the friendly, neighborhood domestic goddess, I volunteered to bring dessert, hence the title for this post.

I have only baked a cheesecake one other time, but I almost never burn anything anymore and my oven is my cooler weather BFF, so I’m not intimidated by many recipes. My friend posted a recipe for a key lime cheesecake. OMG, did I read that right? The marriage of two of my favorite things! I’ll eat just about anything that’s cheesecake! Would you like a slice of our cardboard cheesecake the chef has prepared today? Sure! Needless to say, I was up for the challenge. I broke out my trusty springform pan, dusted the cobwebs and dust bunnies out of it and went to work.

I have a theory on baking especially, but cooking in general. If you’re not making a mess, you’re not doing it right!

See what I mean? And this is a fairly mild mess, compared to some, it’s only on one counter! I followed the instructions, the graham cracker crust was lovely. I poured in the batter and popped it into the oven and set the timer.

About ten minutes before the timer went off, I checked my beautiful cake. Ruh roh Raggy! It had bubbled up the sides of the pan, there was a huge bubble in the center and when I moved the rack, I could tell it was still liquid under the dome. GRRR So I grabbed my phone and called Cheesecake 911, AKA my friend Anuschka, whom I”d gotten the recipe from. She walked me through the rescue of my cheesecake. I’m totally hoping it’s not terrible. It’s a bit scorchy on top, and the sides where it bubbled up above the crust, it had scorched. So not pretty. Oh yeah, and where the bubble had been, well, you can see for yourself.

Would you eat that?

Looks almost more like a pizza than a cheesecake. The brown part is all wrinkly and pruny. I”m debating whether I should cut that part off and just top it with lime jello like she suggested.

I need some suggestions from my baking friends! Has this ever happened to you? How did you recover? Did you give it cosmetic surgery or scrap it all together? I need help people, this dinner is tonite!

I think I may have figured out what to do. I’ll post pix and let you know later how it turns out. If nothing else, I can pick up a cheesecake at the grocery! Or use my standard new recipe disclaimer: It’s a new recipe, if it sucks it’s not my fault!

***UPDATE****

My BFF here suggested I use a star tip and decorate the top of the cake with whipped cream. Hmmm, that sounds like a good idea. I didn’t have time, dinner was the same day I made it. I was scrambling to make it appealing.

It looks much better now, don't you think?

You can’t even tell it was scorched! Everyone at dinner said it was delicious and that made me happy.

My review of the cheesecake: sadly the crust was soggy and I’m not quite sure why, which is kind of disappointing. The cheesecake filling was very tart and limey, not very cheesecake-ish, other than the texture, I really couldn’t taste the cream cheese, the lime was almost too overpowering. Will I make it again? Probably not, to me it was not my best work, but next time I know a cheesecake needs a water bath. Anybody want some, I’ve got a bit left over!

10 responses to “The Great Cheesecake Experiment

  1. Cindy Holman says:

    I say put some strawberries or blueberries on top – who’s going to know? I bet it will be delicious!!!

  2. valcitygal says:

    I agree – if you put something moist on top like berries, then let it sit overnight, I think the “overdone” part will mellow out and no one will even notice. 🙂 Good for you for trying new recipes – keep it up!

  3. Thanks for the ideas ladies! That’s a great idea, if only I’d seen it sooner!Well, I was desperate and tried something else, I”m posting a photo and my review of the cake right now!

  4. Well done for persevering and i’m sure it was totally edible from the beginning!! 😉
    I have been wanting to make a lime and kiwi cheesecake for a while now and i’m not so sure i have what it takes to do so….given your extensive experience and my primary experience in packet cake mix (!!!) then it might be a lil too adventurous for me!! lol
    Glad you finally got it to your satisfaction though…and i totally agree about the kitchen….if you aint making a mess you just aint doing it right!! 🙂 lol

    Debs

  5. Thanks Debs! Hey, you know, I say go for it! If it doesn’t work, you are free to use my standard new recipe disclaimer: It’s a new recipe, if it sucks, it’s not my fault! 😀 I know you’re a busy lady, but one of the ways I got alot of practice in was becoming a Pampered Chef consultant for a while. it really was fun and I earned lots of free stuff! May be something to think about!

  6. hahaha love the disclaimer!!! 😛 based on that assurance i endeavour to rope my kids into making one today….!!
    i looked into pampered chef and they do look rather awesome and sexy indeed….i hadn’t thought of being a consultant tho….so yep i will give it some thought and even contact them for more info!! 🙂
    hope you are having a great weekend so far! 🙂

  7. Pampered Chef is a really great way to earn some extra cash and free products. You do it on your own schedule, it’s very flexible. I still use my gadgets daily and love them. being a consultant really expanded my scope of cooking b/c the recipes are designed with busy people in mind. they look fantastic and difficult but are really easy. That’s my kind of cooking!

    Do let me know how your cheesecake turns out!
    Hope your wknd is going well too!

  8. Its definitely something that has got my interest, of course when it comes by recommendation it serves a higher level of importance! 😉 i have their site open…thats a start, right? 🙂 lol

    Still working on the cheesecake…someone ate the kiwi’s i was going to use….someone happens to be invisible cos noone is owning up to it…!!! Lol

  9. I honestly like both of your cheese cake. Looking good is great but the taste for me is number one choice. Many time I have to serve dinner in dim light or candle light dinner to make some of my meals look decent. My hubby think that it is romantic I think it is clever, lol.

    • Thank you! yes, it really has to look good, especially when I make it for guests. There are some meals I make and my children make faces just because it may not be the prettiest thing, but it tastes good. I love your idea of candle light, I”ll remember that next time!

Leave a Reply

