Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m going to get HATE mail for this one….

on July 7, 2010

Yes, I think I may get flamed for this one, but I just don’t get the whole ‘Twilight’ thing. It’s everywhere and it just makes me want to puke! And yes, I’ve read the books. I know I am not exactly the demo she was writing for, but there are so many women my age, my friends even, who loved it, so I can’t say that’s why I think it’s a bunch of crap. I think it may have something to do with, oh, let’s see, the beginnings of an abusive/unhealthy relationship, and the inability to be true to her storyline. 

don’t get me wrong, I am not so far removed from my first love, that unreasonable, all-consuming, heady experience that I don’t remember what it’s about. What I don’t like about the whole Edward/Bella thing is him. He makes her feel like she can’t survive without him. Like she’s incapable of taking care of herself. He’s way too possessive and controlling. It makes me want to smack her and say, ‘Wake up! You don’t need this loser!’  I have friends who have been in abusive relationships and I’ve read enough about that situation and the abusers to understand that is how they maintain control over their partner. The abuser controls the finances so the other is unable to leave. He will make her feel like she is unable live without him, that no one else will love her the way that he does, or that no one else will love her period. And then there is the idea that if I can’t have you no one else will, which is frightening and happens way too often.

This ideal is the wrong message to send to young women. We need to empower them to know that they can take care of themselves, they don’t need to depend on a man, or woman, to get through life. I want young women, especially my daughter, to understand they do not need a significant other to validate themselves. A life partner/spouse/significant other is a want, not a need.

Not to mention, Ms. Meyer spent so much time laying the groundwork for the last book, defining the rules of transformation, but in the end, she abandoned her own rules, her own storyline, because she didn’t like the way it was going to end. The huge fight between the volturi and the werewolves turned out to be basically a game of dodge ball. Seriously? In any major battle, people get killed, it’s a fact of war. but she was unwilling to let anyone die and be true to her own story. She turned the Volturi into a bunch of pansies.

And don’t get me started on the whole ‘marriage’/baby/transformation of Bella. I quit reading the 4th book, ‘Breaking Dawn’ in protest. When Bella, who couldnt’ stand the smell of blood, suddenly had to drink  blood because of the eerie thing growing inside her, I had to quit. Oh that, and the whole pregnancy thing at all. I’m sorry, but if the undead doesnt’ have to breathe, doesn’t have a heartbeat, doesnt’ have blood, how is it he has the ability to ‘father’ offspring? Am I being too critical? I don’t think so. And yes, i did read on her website that whole thing about how it happened, but she probably should have included that in the book. I’m sure I”m not the only one who’s skeptical about the whole thing. Seriously. After three books of the characters talking about how terrible the transformation is and it’s a year or three of not being yourself, why is it that she doesn’t go through all that? it’s too convenient to save your main character from that. Why don’t the rules of vampireness apply to Bella the same way they did for Alice or Rosalie?

If you look at another series, Harry Potter, that deals with extraordinary characters, the author was able to let the  story unfold in the manner you expect it to, even though it meant killing off several of the main characters, no matter how painful it was. In any story, the characters have to be who they are, who they’ve been built up to be. Here’s a reference to an ‘old’ movie. ‘The Bodyguard’ anyone remember that one? In the end, you wanted them to be together, but that just wasn’t her. She was a pop star and her life was to travel around and perform, not settle down and bake cookies with Kevin Costner.

My message to Stephanie Meyer: rewrite the 4th book and keep the ending in line with the rest of the story, don’t alter it simply because you don’t want to kill off your characters. I totally understand becoming attached to these people, they have become very real to her, but people die, tragedy happens every day. Don’t sacrifice the story to your inability to stick with the plotline you’ve spent so much time creating. Suck it up, put on your big girl panties and deal with it.

http://alphainventions.com/rank?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

http://alphainventions.com/blog?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

One response to “I’m going to get HATE mail for this one….

  1. What? I seriously can’t be the only one around who thinks this stuff is a load of crap! Really? No one else has anything to say about it? I’m totally surprised I haven’t heard from someone extolling the virtues of the undead!

Leave a Reply

