Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Got Tomatoes?

on July 6, 2010

You know me, I’ll all about easy. Recipes that is! This is one of my favorite summer recipes, but you can make it any time of the year. No to mention it’s idiot-proof, which always helps!  To me it says summer because it’s one you can use fresh, home-grown tomatoes.  Honestly, home-grown are always better than any you can buy at the store, I wish someone could tell me why! And they really don’t need any dressing up. My mother-in-law has been known to eat tomatoes like apples! Me, well, I guess I’m too refined for that, I need a fork and a plate!

I found this one in a magazine forever ago, but as per my norm, I had to go and tweak it to my liking. I’m not as crafty as some of my friends in the blogosphere, I hope you can live without a recipe card!

Tomato and Mozzarella Salad

5 to 6 Roma tomatoes (or homegrown, whichever you prefer)

4 oz mozzarella cubed

2 cloves garlic

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 to 1 tsp salt (to taste)

Quarter tomatoes and slice into small pieces. Add the mozz cubes, vinegar, oil, and salt. Using a garlic press, press the garlic into the bowl and toss all ingredients together. Refrigerate at least 30 minutes. You can alter the amounts of salt, vinegar, garlic and cheese to your taste, and it will still be good. Cucumbers or mushrooms are good in it as well. Or you can get really wild and throw in some fresh basil! Yum! 

This is probably our favorite salad. Really delish, I get raves every time I take it somewhere. It is good the next day or two, unlike other salads that wilt and get really gross after a couple of days. Just keep in mind that the olive oil can get a little weird in the fridge. If you take it out after a day or so and see the oil has solidified a bit, don’t worry, as it warms up, the oil will go back to normal. It totally weirded me out the first time I saw that happen! I didn’t think olive oil would solidify, but, it does!

http://alphainventions.com/rank?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

http://alphainventions.com/blog?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

