Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m a sneaky, sneaky mom!

on June 24, 2010

I have a problem that I think most moms can relate to: my children don’t like their veggies. My daughter, she’s good about trying new things and will eat many different vegetables. My son used to be this way, but after about age 5, he decided he had free will and he would use it to not eat the veggies on his plate! I encourage them to try new things, but ya know, it’s kinda difficult when the mere sight of some things, Brussels sprouts for example, trigger a gag attack!

So, today I took their dinner into my own hands, literally. Last night I made soft tacos and black beans. I love black beans, cooked on the plate as a side, or cold in a salad, pretty much anyway they come, I’ll eat them. However, my children are a different story. EEEEWWWW!!!  Was the response i got when I asked if anyone would have some last night. This evening, my husband is working late and I didn’t want to cook, so I offered leftovers. The black beans and taco beef went into the same container last night GASP! The horror! I know, i know. Big deal, right? Well, to you and me, maybe not, but to kids who don’t want things touching on their plates, it’s tantamount to cooties! As I was trying desperately to figure out how I was going to separate them, I decided, if you can’t beat them, join them! I mashed the black beans until the were well blended, made their soft tacos and waited for their reactions. My son said they tasted even better than last night! Huh. really? I wonder why honey, I said as I am giving him the ‘surprised’ look. All the while I’m secretly smirking, HA! I got you to eat veggies! YAY ME!!!

I know, there are lots of sneaky ways to get their veggies in. I have the book, but it looks like way too much work for me, so I do it when I can. I have finely grated yellow squash into spaghetti sauce, I use applesauce in my baking instead of oil and kill two fat birds with one stone. And I can’t forget about the chocolate zucchini bread. My children know exactly what is in it, my son even made it for a class project, and yet they love it! They eat it until they get sick every time I make it!

And then there’s Aunt Nellie. She was the first sneaky chef I’d ever met. My mother’s aunt, which makes her my great aunt. Anyway, I was 9 and my brother 6 when we stayed with them for a month. Aunt Nellie made mashed potatoes one evening and put shredded carrots in them. My brother being the veggie-phobic he was, asked what was in his potatoes. He, like most children, adored his smashed taters. Aunt Nellie told him that in Seattle, they have orange butter and he ate them like there was no tomorrow! Of course after dinner, someone had to spoil it, but it got him to eat carrots. Poor Aunt Nellie, he never forgave her and wet the bed in protest! To this day he won’t touch a carrot. And he may still wet the bed for all I know, he’s married so I hope not!

If you have sneaky ways of getting veggies into your food, please share! I’d love to have more tricks in my arsenal!

http://alphainventions.com/rank?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

http://alphainventions.com/blog?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

