Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Top 10 Things I Learned from my Dad

on June 20, 2010

I’ve written another post on Father’s Day, so I wanted to write something positive and different about my pop.

The Top 10 Things I learned from my dad in random order, because I’m too lazy to put them in order according to importance!

10. Treat everyone with respect and dignity because you never know when you’ll be on the other side

9. We are all the same on the inside, try to never judge people simply on their outward appearance (seriously, have you seen any pictures of Howard Hughes in his later years? He was crazy rich and looked like a homeless person!)

8. Never settle for less than what you want, or less than what you feel you deserve, or let anyone tellyou that you aren’t good enough for those things, or in his words, don’t let the bastards get you down  (that was one of his favorite sayings!)

7. If you can’t laugh at yourself, you’re in serious doody, ha ha, I just said ‘doody’

6. Work hard and you’ll be rewarded for it (too bad my husband’s employees haven’t heard this one!)

5. Never underestimate the power of the mind. Remember, some things are mind over matter, as in if you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter!

4. Family comes first, always.

3. A good fart joke every now and then is almost as  good for you as actually farting every now and then!

2. Anything is possible if you want it bad enough (as long as it’s not illegal, cause I’m not bailing your ass out of jail!)

1. Always, and I mean FREAKING ALWAYS tell the truth, no matter how hard it may be. You never know when it’s going to come back and bite you in the arse. (This I learned the hard way in high school and got grounded for a month getting busted lying. Did you know a month when you’re in high school is like a decade in normal years? Seriously! I nearly missed my Adam Ant concert!)

One more that I just have to add to this list, so i guess it’s 10+1 ! If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit! And that,my friends, is basically my pop in a nutshell. He was the best, he loved bad jokes, laughing at himself , photography and learning new things. I wish you could’ve met him, I know you would’ve liked him and I’m sure he would’ve liked you.

Happy Father’s Day dad!

http://alphainventions.com/rank?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

http://alphainventions.com/blog?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

