Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Do you live in a sauna? Check out this awesome summer cooking tip!

on June 19, 2010

Ok, so I live in the midwest, Oklahoma to be specific. If you have never been here, it really is beautiful. It’s very green and lush with rolling hills and friendly people. And for those of you wondering if we still ride horses, drive wagons and play cowboy and Indian for real, well, I hate to be the one to burst  that bubble, but we don’t. Another newsflash, as long as Im’ in the bubble bursting mode, we have cable, electricity, and hot water too! In fact, I remember the day we got MTV, way back in the day when they actually had MUSIC on, ahem, MUSIC television.

One thing we have for sure is incredibly hot summers. Our weather can go from one extreme to the other. Seriously, weeks of ice and snow on the ground with wind chills in the single-digits in winter (I know, it’s much worse in other parts of the country, but I”m a cold weather weenie!). Summers, the norm is temps in the upper 90’s to 100’s during the day with humidity in the sauna range, making it feel like the 7th ring of hell! for three months I thank God and the genius who invented the air conditioner, because without A/C, there’s no way I’d survive!

Needless to say, temps in the range of 3000F don’t make me want to use my oven, so I”m always looking for ways to use my grill. Oh, my lovely grill, but you know, there’s just so many dogs, burgers,  and chicken I can cook before it becomes kind of boring.  I think I can cook just about anything on the grill and now I’ve found something else to cook on it and I”m soooo happy! Pizza! Yup. I’ve heard of people doing it, but I thought it was more of the fresh variety and what I wanted to put on there is frozen.  I found a blog by a control freak who ‘splained it for me! You can check her out here www.controllingmychaos.com, she’s got great tips and recipes and is just a freaking funny chick! I’d love to have her at one of my parties! She thinks like I do, but the difference is I’ve given up trying to control my chaos and just go with it most of the time.

So, here’s what the control freak had to say about grilling a pizza.  Cook it on low heat and keep an eye on it. if your grill has a higher rack, so much the better. I put a sheet of heavy-duty foil under my frozen pizza, as my grill grates are in serious need of a cleaning after the burgers I made earlier this week. The bottom of my pizza got kind of scorchy, which I promptly scraped off, since my children dont’ eat anything remotely burnt! But otherwise turned out well. I will definitely do this again. I love anything that makes my life a little easier!

***UPDATE*** Well, although the black was not on the entire pizza and I did my best to scrape it off, neither of my children wanted anything to do with it! My son took a bite, didn’t even chew it, didn’t even totally bite it off before loudly proclaiming how terrible it was! It didn’t upset me, I was kind of expecting it but hoping for a different result. This little speed bump won’t stop me from trying it again, next time I’ll just do a better job of watching it so we don’t have the issue with a charcoal-flavored pizza!

http://alphainventions.com/rank?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

http://alphainventions.com/blog?=https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com

4 responses to “Do you live in a sauna? Check out this awesome summer cooking tip!

  1. LOL I had to laugh about the reality of Oklahoma…I am a typical minded person who always wondered if the movie depicted life there…I think I wanted it to cos I love that movie but I guess real life is just way different!! LOL
    Ok dreaming over! Not sure i’m happy now my bubble is burst so I’ll scoot on over to my facebook and wallow in self pity!! ROFL
    Still lovin your blog! 🙂
    Debs

    • drmomx2 says:

      Oh Debs, you crack me up! And you are exactly the reason I wrote that. Believe it or not, there are people here in the States that still think that! I moved to Los Angeles in 1990, and they asked me if we lived in teepees! And all of the other ideas that I destroyed in my post! I was shocked and amused all at the same time. It’s kind of like LA is not all Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. I was surprised at that, since that’s all we see in the movies! Funny! So, don’t wallow in your pity, just be happy if you live somewhere that it doesn’t feel like 125F at 9AM!

  2. Jill Scott says:

    Thanks for the link love. 🙂 I love finding new things to grill outside. No one should be stuck in the kitchen in the summer time.

Leave a Reply

