Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You’re invited to my ‘Whine’ and cheese party!

on June 16, 2010

I’m just going to whine and have a pity party for  a moment, so just humor me, if you will. I don’t do this often, I have way more important things to spend my time and energy on than things like this, so I’m just going to get it off my chest and out of my system and be done with it. Then, we’ll have a ‘whine’ and cheese party!

So I have this friend, well, I like to call her my friend, but that’s up for debate about now. She’s beautiful and glamorous and all the things I’d like to be, but just can’t seem to pull off as effortlessly as she does.  I’ve known her for about 5 years, long enough to know what kind of person the other is, right? Well, maybe not. I recently kind of started a debate with her on her Facebook page and she didn’t appreciate it. I offended her unintentionally and felt really terrible about it. So to apologize, I took her a 6 pack of her favorite soda and asked forgiveness. She said,’ that’s fine, I just don’t do that on my FB page’.  I’m ok with that. Some people use their FB page as a soapbox for debate and dialogue, others choose not to. 

A few years ago, we were walking together regularly and I felt we got to know each other pretty well and thought we were friends. Schedules changed, kids were out of school for summer and our walks came to an end. I get it. Life changes. We had lunch occasionally, but always at my invitation. We hosted parties (we are the party people) to which she and her husband would come, but my most recent soirees they have missed due to schedule conflicts.

Fast forward to now. I found out we were going to be vacationing at the same place, Disneyworld in Orlando, and made a comment that it would be fun if we could get together and have dinner together there, or meet at one of the parks one day and chat over a Mickey bar. She told me she wasn’t planning the trip, that they were just going to let things happen. Fine, I gave her our planned schedule and hoped we might get together. And yet, at the same time I was feeling like it was her trying to gently blow me off. Did you know that usually when you have a ‘gut’ feeling it’s mostly right? Mine was. We were in the same location for 5 days and didn’t run into each other. I never heard from her.

I guess I’m trying to say it really hurt my feelings and I’m done. I’m done trying to be friends with someone who doesn’t want to be friends with me. I really don’t know what happened to make things change so much and wish she would  tell me so I could make amends if it’s something I did. Agh. I hate the feeling of inadequacy. But, it’s over.

Thanks for letting me vent, I feel much better. Now it’s time for wine and cheese, when can you be here?

5 responses to “You’re invited to my ‘Whine’ and cheese party!

  1. Hiya
    I found your blog via alpha inventions and had to chime in when i saw this post…i have been in the precise situation you have…and i’ve come to three conclusions.
    1. she may just not want a friendship…and yes it hurts alot.
    2. she may not realise how she is coming across till she hears how you feel
    3. its one of those long term but no commitment friendships
    my situation turned out to be no. 3. 22 years later we are now on facebook, chat almost every day, planning our first get together in about 4 years and i’m still hurt that in the last 4 yrs she just hasn’t responded to me in anyway YET she is always happy to speak to me via text and fb since we caught up again.
    this time, i promised myself that if she disappears again, im not going to be hurt, im going to accept it and hope that we cross paths again in the future!
    Debs 🙂

    • drmomx2 says:

      Thanks for that Debs. I knew I wasn’t the only one who’s had this experience. I hope all works out well for you and your friend. I have no idea how this story will end for me, but like you, I will just take it for what it’s worth and not put any more effort or energy into worrying about it.

  2. blackwatertown says:

    Agree with Debs. Either drop her, or, as Debs suggests, take the less dramatic option of just letting things lie as they are – the relationship may come good sometime in the future.

    • drmomx2 says:

      I’ll probably just leave things alone. I don’t have the time or energy to worry about her and whatever reasoning she may have. I like her and will still treat her with the kindness and respect I do my other friends, but I certainly will not go out of my way for her.

  3. […] The busiest day of the year was June 19th with 1,172 views. The most popular post that day was You’re invited to my ‘Whine’ and cheese party!. […]

Leave a Reply

