Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A WHAT on a plate?? Now that’s a good pie!

on June 16, 2010

YUM

Heaven on a plate

Ok, so I’ve written about my misadventures with the key lime pie.  After my second attempt yesterday, I’m happy to report that I achieved key lime karmic nirvana! And in my usual habit, I altered the recipe just a bit with results that were so delicious, my BFF said it was like ‘an orgasm on a plate!’ I’d say that was pretty damned good! So, here’s the original with my alterations noted. Thank you Joe’s Stone Crab for sharing this!

Joe’s Stone Crab Key Lime Pie, as interpreted by 1domesticgoddess

CRUST:

10 graham crackers crushed

5tbsp butter melted

1/4C sugar

My additions: I used 9 cinnamon graham crackers and added about 1/2C chopped pecans (I got that idea from a restaurant called Copeland’s)

Press in the bottom of a 12″ pie pan (I used 9″, it was all I could find) bake @ 375 for 8 min, set aside and let cool.

FILLING:

2 cans 14oz each sweetened condensed milk

5 egg yolks

1C fresh lime juice

zest of 1/2 of a lime

I zested a whole lime (normal size) and the juice of 3 fresh limes with enough bottled lime juice to make 1C.

blend well and pour in pie crust. Bake @ 375 for 8 minutes. Let cool completely, place in freezer. when ready to serve, let pie stand at room temperature for 15 minutes prior to cutting. Top with whipped cream if desired.

I left mine in the oven for about 5 minutes longer b/c it didn’t look like it was set yet.

It’s a very creamy pie, very tart and tangy. My husband was afraid it was going to be too limey, but it’s really good. And my favorite part, it’s CRAZY easy! It comes together very easily. In fact, if you wanted to by-pass the whole make-your-own-crust thing, you could simply buy the premade graham cracker crust and still have a really good pie! My problem now?  What to do with all the leftovers! My kids are gone and I don’t want this sitting in my fridge, I may as well just strap it to my arse!

2 responses to “A WHAT on a plate?? Now that’s a good pie!

  1. Roberta says:

    I’m baking this pie now … but I tasted the filling (I know … raw eggs yadda yadda) and it’s pretty darn good! Can’t wait! Thanks for the recipe. I was in Florida and had the best key lime pie at Charley’s Crab. I think YOU NAILED IT!

    • You are gonna LOOOOOVVVVEEE it! it is so good and best yet, easy! So you’ve had the real thing From Charley’ s? I’m interested to see how it compares! Let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

