Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Key Lime Pie, anyone?

on June 12, 2010

I don’t think I ever had key lime pie until it was in my late 20’s. I was having dinner at a Cajun seafood restaurant in Dallas, Pappadeaux, with an old boyfriend and he recommended I try it. OMG I fell in love! the guy is long gone, but my love of the pie, is as strong as ever! I try it at every opportunity. Sometimes, I’m completely blown away by the tangy sweetness and happy that they only serve it in smallish sized slices because I could easily gorge myself and end up feeling quite ill! Other times, underwhelmed is the word I would use. It has the right consistency and color, but beyond that, not so much. It’s basically a graham cracker crust with green custard. yuck.

In my delight to try new recipes of late, I have found my next challenge: Key Lime Pie from the restaurant Joe’s Stone Crab in Miami. It’s apparently a very famous creation and I am going to give it my best shot. The picture of it is just gorgeous. I have no delusions about the appearance of my food. I know they have food designers when these photos are made. Rarely does what I make look anything like the magazine/web photos. I’m totally ok with it, as long as the food tastes good.

Wish me luck. I’m going to make this for my girls’ night in next week when I have my friends over. I mean, if they’re already going to be my burger tasters, why not throw in something else? I’m really hoping I can nail it, it just looks SOOOO good! I’ll share the recipe if it turns out the way I hope it does!

3 responses to “Key Lime Pie, anyone?

  1. valcitygal says:

    OMG I totally agree – Key Lime Pie is heaven in a pie plate. I so hope it works out for you – and I can’t wait for the recipe! 🙂

  2. Cristobal says:

    OMG I totally agree – Key Lime Pie is heaven in a pie plate. I so hope it works out for you – and I can’t wait for the recipe!
    +1

Leave a Reply

