Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m back with new recipe ideas!

on June 3, 2010

Wow! Talk about a hair-on-fire week! We just got back from a week+ at Disneyworld in Orlando and I never thought I’d be so happy to sleep in my own bed! I can tell you that at least the hotel beds were very comfortable, pillow-top in fact and plenty big enough for my 6’4″ hubby and myself to sleep comfortably.

We went full-tilt for 7 full days, and a little of the evening we first arrived. I wore a pedometer, just for grins and giggles and got quite a shock! The first full day we were there, we walked 7 miles! i forgot how many steps that was, but we were all wiped out!  It was a good time, lots of rides, meeting characters, including many that we didn’t get to see on our last visit, good food, and, well, standing in line! We were able to avoid too much standing in line by hitting the parks early, but it’s inevitable when 20,000 people want to be in the same place at the same time, there’s going to be a line where you want to be! My husband and I made jokes about the ‘line simulation ride’ because there was alot of that. We refused to stand in a line that was longer than 20 minutes, 30 minutes was max that we would try. Normally they would move faster than was posted, but still….

We ate lots of good food, and many things I’m going to attempt to replicate. At Ohana at the Polynesian resort they have pineapple bread that is just to die for! It’s not overly sweet or frosted, but it was amazing!  Oh, that and the skewers of grilled steak, pork, turkey and shrimp! All you can eat can be a bad thing sometimes! I would loved to make the Dole whip, but I don’t have the frozen smoothie machine, but I bet I could make a sorbet or ice. Then there were the parmesan rolls at the Rose & Crown. They were warm and soft and I love the taste of the browned parm sprinkled on top.  Oh, and I can’t forget the Oreo bon bons! They were fantastic! Oreo’s topped with some kind of cookies and cream creation then sprinkled with cocoa powder and a dollop of chocolate mousse.

We ate at a drive-in theater that was an indoor restaurant made to look like a drive-in. Very cool! You sit in little cars to eat while watching B movies from the 50’s and 60’s. The walls are painted to look like night. Very unique and fun. We ate at a Biergarten in Germany at Epcot. We were very lucky to be able to have dinner with princesses at Cinderella’s castle. And for the end of our trip, we ate at an English pub called the Rose and Crown in the UK pavilion at Epcot. I can’t forget about the Mickey bars!

We were very lucky to go on this vacation and eat at some of the restaurants we did, they are difficult to get reservations at. I’ll keep you posted on my quest to replicate some of the recipes and share if I have any success!

3 responses to “I’m back with new recipe ideas!

  1. […] } I’m really bummed right now. I wrote about our really fun vacation here https://1domesticgoddess.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/im-back-with-new-recipe-ideas/ . All day Thursday I felt hung over without the fun of actually enjoying adult beverages, just […]

  2. valcitygal says:

    Soooo – what were your favorite parks, rides, experiences? Can’t wait to hear!

    • drmomx2 says:

      Hmmm, to pick a favorite, that is a really tough thing. The show ‘Fantasmic” at Hollywood Studios was pretty amazing. Fire on the water is always a neat trick! you know Disney never does anything half way. Both my children got pirate make-overs and that was pretty fun. Seeing my daughter’s face light up when she saw Ariel, that was priceless. Most of the food was good, although we were not impressed with the restaurant at our hotel. We were there for ‘Star Wars’ weekend at Hollywood Studios and they had a celebrity motorcade with characters from the movies. To see them walking down the street was really cool. And they had 5 people who had been in, or worked on the movies, or the ‘Clone Wars’ tv show riding in convertibles. It was neato to see what the people looked like. We ate at one restaurant called ‘Sci Fi dine in Theater’ it was a restaurant made to look like a drive -in theater. You sit in the cars to eat and watch old 50’s and 60’s B movies. it was really fun. We liked all of the rides, although my son wasn’t crazy about several. He’s nearly 10 and thinks he’s too cool for Peter Pan and Winnie the Pooh now. We didn’t spend much time at Animal Kingdom, there are only a few rides and it gets oppressively hot there. It’s just a really densely wooded area and the air doesn’t flow very well. We spent 2-1/2 days at Magic Kingdom and Epcot. There’s just so much to see and do at both of them, there’s no way you can do it all in one day. The last time we went, we only had about 4-1/2 days and tried to squeeze too much into too short a time and didn’t get to see as much as we wanted to. I’m glad we took longer this time and were able to see and do nearly everything we wanted to.

Leave a Reply

