Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m going to give it a go

on April 21, 2010

Well, everyone everywhere is trying to do their part to keep their expenses down and do good things for the environment, so I might as well jump on that train too. I’m going to take a shot at container gardening.  So far I’ve got grape tomatoes, cilantro and basil. I’ve also got a strawberry plant, but I”m not sure where i”ll put it. I may put it in a pot too.

I love grape tomatoes on a salad, and, well, all by themselves! I hope my plant does well, those little babies are expensive! Besides, I’ll know exactly what is on it, as in pesticides and fertilizer. So far, none by my hand.  One of my other summer favorites is a tomato and mozzarella salad. I toss it with some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, kosher salt, and a fresh clove of garlic or two. If i”m really feeling froggy, I’ll throw in a cucumber. This summer, I”ll toss in some fresh basil! MMMM love me some basil! I think anything with basil on it is wonderful!

So, wish me luck. Sometimes I have no problems growing plants, as in my bedding plants, lilies, hydrangeas, and ground cover. Other times, not so much. Azaleas are all over the place here, and they are simply gorgeous, the come in nearly every color of the rainbow and I love them. I planted some at our old house. They did manage to grow, but the didn’t look good, they were very leggy and not full at all. We have a spot on the north side of our house that was bare so last year, I decided to try my hand again. I picked out azaleas with beautiful lavender flowers, they dont’ seem to be very common around here, and are just gorgeous. Well, guess what. I think my azalea growing thumb must be either brown or broken, I bought 4 plants and none of them survived. so this year, I’ve bought some hydrangeas to put in that spot, it’s very shaded and stays fairly damp, which they love. So, wish me luck on that too. I just love them.

Ok, now that I hopefully have inspired you, happy gardening!

2 responses to “I’m going to give it a go

  1. valcitygal says:

    I’m so excited for you and also knowing I’m alone in the container gardening adventure. I just started one too and am keeping my fingers crossed.

    Apparently, when plants get leggy, they lack sun/light. You mentioned that it was a shaded area, so that was likely the culprit. I happened to read up on that whle I was researching my container garden foray. 🙂

    I too LOVE basil. You’re right – anything with basil is awesome. And mozzarella & tomatoes – YUM! So summery – can hardly wait!

    • drmomx2 says:

      I’m keeping my fingers crossed for both of us! the funny thing about the leggy plants, they like the shade, that was what I found to be odd. They got minimal afternoon sun, but it was apparently not enough! Oh well, hopefully the hydrangeas will do well there. And my tomatoes! It is growing so fast, it’s already got a few blooms on it and my daugher is so excited, she loves tomatoes! Keep us posted on your garden!

Leave a Reply

