Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A different way to recycle

on April 16, 2010

I’m all about recycling and reusing whatever I can. We don’t have curbside recycling here where I live, but we have a place that you can take your recyclables to. I don’t have to separate glass from plastic from cans, which is nice.  And there are paper bins all over town which is very convenient. Most of the stores around here have the big bins inside for recycling the plastic shopping bags. I normally take my own bags shopping, I don’t know about you, but those things replicate like bunnies in my cabinet! If you have a recycling program in your town, you should recycle everything you can. There’s no reason something should go into a landfill if it can be reused in some manner.

I even signed up on a website called ‘Freecycle’. Members join and offer up things that they think others can use that don’t have to go in the landfill. For example. We bought a new dishwasher last year. The old one still worked, just not as well as I wanted it to, and my husband got a crazy cheap deal on a new one.  There are numerous charities around here that call for donations of things like clothing, books, household items, but none of them deal with appliances like that. So, I joined Freecycle, posted my dishwasher and chose who it would go to. I also gave away our old gas grill, an exterior door, and it seems like something else, but I can’t remember what it was. You would be amazed at the things people can reuse. I see listing on there all the time for broken items that can be used for parts. Don’t throw away your old lawnmower, give it away, put it on Craigslist under Free or join Freecycle and I promise, someone will take it off your hands and put it to use.

I lived in California for a few years and that’s where I really got into it. They were big into recycling, even twenty years ago. That they have a deposit on cans and bottles definitely helps. It was not uncommon to see people picking through the trash bins and cans looking for bottles and cans to be recycled. It was free money to them.

So, i’m watching the news yesterday morning and saw a new use for empty wine bottles. I’ve seen them with Christmas lights in them, it’s really cute, a nice party effect. But this was different. If you have tall boots, stuff a wine bottle in each boot to help it keep it’s shape over the summer when you’re not wearing them. How brilliant is that? I thought it was very clever. I do not have tall boots, but what a great idea!

If you are interested, check out

www.freecycle.org

www.craigslist.com

you can enter your local area and just take a look at the free section on Craigslist. To check out Freecycle, you must have a Yahoo email address and you have to join, but it’s great. You don’t have to worry about how to dispose of things and it will save space in the landfill for things that really should be there!

Leave a Reply

